Riyad Mahrez Nominated For Player Of The Year Award


Leicester City’s star, Riyad Mahrez, has been nominated for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award and he could become the first African player to win the award.

The Algerian, who has lit the English Premier League with his pace, goal-scoring ability and mesmerizing trickery has been nominated together with his Foxes team-mates, Jamie Vardy, and the hard-tackling and indefatigable midfielder, N’Golo Kante.

Also See: NFF Crisis: Giwa, Group Summoned Before Disciplinary Committee

Leicester’s remarkable rise to the top of the Premier League, seven points clear of Tottenham, has seen the trio on top of their games. Vardy has scored 21 league goals and made six assists, while playmaker Mahrez has contributed 16 goals and 11 assists. Frenchman Kante has also earned widespread praise for his performances as a defensive midfielder, making more tackles (146) and interceptions (134) than any other player in the Premier League this season.

The other nominees include Arsenal midfielder Mesut Ozil, who has had a pretty amazing season, West Ham midfielder Dimitri Payet and Spurs’ striker Harry Kane, who is in contention to retain the Young Player of the Year award he won 12 months ago.

The 43rd PFA Awards will be held in London on Sunday April 24 2016. We wish Mahrez the best of luck and hope he wins the coveted award.

Also See: AC Milan Sacks Coach Mihajlovic, Replaces Him With Brocchi

Below is the full list of Nominees

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

  • Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • Jamie Vardy (Leicester)
  • Mesut Ozil (Arsenal)
  • N’Golo Kante (Leicester)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Leicester)

Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year

  • Dele Alli (Tottenham)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • Jack Butland (Stoke)
  • Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Everton)
  • Ross Barkley (Everton)

Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

  • Beth Mead (Sunderland)
  • Gemma Davison (Chelsea)
  • Hedvig Lindahl (Chelsea)
  • Izzy Christiansen (Manchester City)
  • Ji So-Yun (Chelsea)

Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year

  • Beth Mead (Sunderland)
  • Danielle Carter (Arsenal)
  • Hannah Blundell (Chelsea)
  • Keira Walsh (Manchester City)
  • Nikita Parris (Manchester City)

Also Read: Ronaldo Sets Record – 30 Goals In 6 Straight La Liga Seasons