Ibrahimovic Named France’s Player Of The Year


Paris Saint-Germain striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic was on Sunday named Ligue 1 Player of the Year, taking the award for the third time in four seasons.

The Swedish striker beat off competition from Paris Saint-Germain team-mate Ángel Di María, Hatem Ben Arfa of OGC Nice and Lassana Diarra of Olympique de Marseille to reclaim the prize, with the trophy being handed to him by Dutch legend, Edgar Davids at the UNFP awards ceremony in Paris.

Ibrahimovic, 34, has been the best player on the best side, scoring a league-best 35 goals paired with 13 assists in 29 appearances for the runaway top-flight champions.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic 3

Zlatan won the award in each of his first two seasons in Ligue 1 before seeing Lyon’s Alexandre Lacazette succeed him last season. Ibrahimovic has however enjoyed arguably the best season of his career. His brilliant form was instrumental in helping PSG to their fourth consecutive title, which they clinched in record time.

Ibrahimovic, whose contract ends this summer, previously won the award in 2013 and 2014, but lost out to Olympique Lyonnais striker Alexandre Lacazette last season.

Also See: Rashidi Yekini Remembered, Nigerians Blast Oliseh on Twitter

Ousmane Dembele, Rennes’ teenage sensation was among Ligue 1 honourees this season, as he was named Young Player of the Year, beating Vincent Koziello of Nice, Thomas Lemar of AS Monaco and Adrien Rabiot of Paris Saint-Germain for the honour.

Dembele, 18, has twelve goals and five helpers in 21 starts for Rolland Courbis’ lot and has vaulted the French Under-21 international from near-obscurity to one of Europe’s most desired young forwards.

Goalkeeper of the Year award went to Marseille’s Steven Mandanda, who claimed the title for the fourth time, while PSG’s title-winning boss Laurent Blanc was named Coach of the Year.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and mandanda awarded

Mandanda, 31, has started all but one of Marseille’s league matches this season, matching nine clean sheets with the skipper’s responsibilities for his second consecutive Goalkeeper of the Year honour and fourth since he joined the club from Le Havre in 2007-08.

Read Also: Cameroonian Footballer Patrick Ekeng Dies On The Pitch

Below is a full list of the winners; 

Ligue 1 Player of the Year – Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain)
Ligue 1 Young Player of the Year – Ousmane Dembélé (Rennes)
Ligue 1 Goal of the Season – Pierrick Capelle (Angers SCO v EA Guingamp)
Ligue 1 Coach of the Year – Laurent Blanc (Paris Saint-Germain)
Ligue 1 Goalkeeper of the Year – Steve Mandanda (Marseille)
Ligue 2 Player of the Year – Famara Dhiedhiou (Clermont)
Ligue 2 ‘Keeper of the Year – Baptiste Reynet (Dijon)
Ligue 2 Coach of the Year – Olivier Dall’Oglio (Dijon)