Here’s The List Of Winners At The West Africa Mobile Awards


For the sixth year, a first truly leading West African technology event, awards winners at the inaugural West Africa Mobile Awards, WAMAS, recognizing African region’s best mobile and tech companies on Thursday at the awards party in Lagos.

This year’s awards drew an overwhelming response of submissions from 10 countries, across 3 continents. The winners were announced during an awards gala party at Rooftop in Lagos with over 150 mobile industry executives, international media, investors, prestigious judges, and sponsors in attendance.

Supported by Twitter, Ad Dynamo, Uber, Mobile West Africa (MWA),, the Mobile Ecosystem Forum (MEF), iConcepts,Qube 247, and many other industry-leading organisations and publications, WAMAS 2016 event was a great experience.

Also See: Fueled Up- Nigerian Youth Creates On-Demand Fuel App

Mobile Awards

Speaking at the event, Matthew Dawes, Co-Founder of the West Africa Mobile Awards, said their mission was to promote and honour the fantastic innovation across the mobile and tech ecosystem in Africa.



The diverse entries from 10 countries and both the finalists and winners are a testament to how mobile is revolutionizing society in West Africa, he said.

Dawes congratulated all of the 2016 winners and thanked the judges, sponsors, and media partners across West Africa that helped to make the WAMAS possible.

The full list of the winners by category:

Mobile App & Game Award: Genii Games ASA

Brand Development on Mobile: Wild Fusion

Young Gun of the Year Award: Andrew Takyi-Appiah from Zeepay

Innovation in the Industry Award: mPedigree Goldkeys

Social Entertainment & News Award: Amebo App

Societal Development Award: Cellulant E Wallet

Educational & Personal Development Award:

Outstanding Industry Achievement Award: Jason Njoku

Commerce & Retail Award: CommercePointe

Money Banking & Financial: PayWithCapture

Read Also: Tech Firm To Train Girls On Mobile App Development

The judges were industry experts like, Marek Zmyslowski, Ethel Cofie, Tunji Eleso, Russell Southwood, Josiah Kwesi-Eyison, Rebecca Enonchong, Chidi Okpala, Rimma Perelmuter, Tom Jackson, Loy Okezie, Francis Ebuehi, Paul Adepoju, Jo Crawshaw, Yomi Adegboye, Andy Favell, Monty Munford, Lynette Hundermark and CFA.