List of Universities in Delta State

There are more than 10 universities in Delta State, owned by either the government or private entities. Some of these institutions are ranked top in Nigeria and together, they have made Delta popular and one of the destinations for students.

The Universities in Delta State have been established at different times. Some of them started in the ’70s as colleges of education. Others started as polytechnics, while others were first established as universities. Whatever the case, they are found in different local governments of the state and are designed for pre-degree, undergraduate, and postgraduate programs.

Here is a complete list of Universities in Delta State and interesting facts about each of them.

List of Government Universities in Delta State

1. Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun

Universities in Delta State
Image Source

The university is also known as FUPRE. It was established in 2007 as a specialized Federal university in Nigeria. It became the first petroleum university in Africa and the 6th in the world.

The Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun is located at Ugbomro, Effurun, Delta. It has three educational programs such as the College of Basic Studies and Foundation Programme, the Centre for Safety Education, and the Centre for Maritime and Offshore Studies.

Furthermore, the Federal University of Petroleum is divided into 2 colleges – The College of Science and The College of Engineering. Each of these colleges comprises 10 departments.

2. National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)

National Open University of Nigeria
Image Source

The National Open University of Nigeria is a Federal open and distance learning institution that is found in many Nigerian States, including Delta.

In Delta State, NOUN has 5 study centers – Asaba (The State capital), Emevor (Isolo North LGA), Owhrode (Udu LGA), and the Onicha Ugbo Study Center. The Onicha Ugbo center is the youngest and commenced operation in 2022.

In Nigeria, the National Open University was established in 1983 but was suspended a year later. The Olusegun Obasanjo administration resuscitated it in 2001 and has spread to different states.

3. Delta State University (DELSU), Abraka

Universities in Delta State

DELSU is one of the oldest universities in Delta State as it was established in 1992. Before then, the school had seen a transition over time. Initially, it was founded as a Government Teachers’ Training College during the colonial era.

It later became a College of Education in 1971. In 1981, it was affiliated with the University of Benin and started degree programs.

Delta State University’s main campus is located in Abraka. However, there is another campus located in Oleh. There are 12 faculties in DELSU and they are spread across the different campuses.

Furthermore, there are colleges that are affiliated with the school and they are the College of Education, Agbor; College of Education, Warri; and College of Education, Mosogar which are all located in Delta State.

4. Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro

Delta State University of Science and Technology
Image Source

Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro was established in 2021 by the Delta State government. Before then, the institution had gone through different stages of growth.

In the earliest stage of its founding and before it became a university, Delta State University of Science and Technology was known as Ozoro Polytechnic from 1982 to 1985. It later became the College of Agriculture and existed for 10 years until the James Ibori administration led it to become Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro in 2003.

Finally, it became Delta State University of Science and Technology in 2021. It now comprises 6 faculties and not less than 45 programs.

See also  Bauchi State University Admission Portal, Requirements and School Fees

5. Dennis Osadebay University (DOU), Asaba

Dennis Osadebay University

With no fewer than 6 faculties, DOU is a leading state government university in Delta State. It is located in Delta’s capital Asaba.

The university was created in 2021 and is approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC). It was formerly Delta State University, Anwai Campus before it was converted to a full-fledged university.

6. University of Delta, Agbor

Universities in Delta
Image Source

The University of Delta was one of the three universities created in Delta State in 2021. It is located in Agbor in Ika South Local Government Area of the State.

Long before its creation, it served as a college of education. It started its existence in 1979 in the then-Bendel State. After the state was divided into Edo and Delta, it became a Delta State-owned institution.

At the time of this report, the university which is approved by NUC has 9 faculties. Each faculty is made up of numerous departments and offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses.

List of Private Universities in Delta State

1. Western Delta University

Western Delta University
Image Source

The Western Delta University is located in Oghara in Ethiope West Local Government Area of Delta State. It is a privately owned institution that was founded in 2007 by a group of Urhobo Scholars under the auspices of the Urhobo Advancement Foundation (UAF).

Academically, it has 5 faculties – The College of Natural and Applied Sciences, The College of Social and Management Sciences, The College of Law, The College of Applied Health Sciences, and The Post Graduate College.

2. Novena University, Ogume-Amai

Novena University, Ogume-Amai

Novena University is the first private university in Delta State and it was founded in 2005. It is located at Ogume, a main town in Ndokwa West LGA.

The institution offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs, including Health Sciences, Management and Social Sciences, and Natural and Applied Sciences.

3. Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo

Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo
Image Source

ECU was named after its founder, Chief Edwin K. Clark, a nationalist, Ijaw leader, and politician. The school was founded in 2015 and it is one of the fastest-growing private universities in Nigeria.

The institution was formerly known as Edwin Clark University of Technology (ECUT) before its name was later changed. It is located in Kiagbodo, Burutu, Delta State.

With respect to academics, ECU offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses. It has 5 faculties and about 25 departments.

4. Eagle Heights University, Omadino, Warri

Although this University has not kicked off, it has received nods to commence with its structure. Its launching was attended by Nigeria’s former president, Goodluck Jonathan in 2014.

The University, located at Omadino is owned by the former President of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor of the Word of Life Bible Church.

Public-Private University in Delta State

1. Admiralty University of Nigeria (ADUN)

Universities in Delta State
Image Source

The Admiralty University of Nigeria has two campuses in Delta State. The main campus is located at Ibus, Ogwashi-Uku Expressway, Delta, and its other campus is located at the Nigerian Navy Engineering College in Sapele.

It was founded in 2017 as a public-private partnership institution by the Nigerian Navy Holding and Hellenic Education Nigeria as main partners.

The institution has 3 faculties and runs several programs, including. Forensic Science Programmes, Cyber Security, Computer Science, Software Engineering, and Applied Physics & Renewable Energy. Others are Industrial Mathematics, Department of Public and Private Law (PPL), Department of Jurisprudence and International Law ( JIL), B. Sc. Business Administration, and B. Sc. Economics.


Featured Today

Read This Next