University of Ilorin: School Fees, Courses, and Students Portal Info

The University of Ilorin (Unilorin) is a Federal Government tertiary institution situated in Ilorin, the capital city of Kwara State, Nigeria.

Established in 1975 by a decree of the Federal Military Government, the University of Ilorin has been a center of higher academic learning for decades. The institution has one of the largest landmasses in the country occupying approximately 5000 hectares; with infrastructures in place to accommodate and train thousands of students.

We are here to update you on the school’s curriculum activities, fees, admissions, and students portal information

Courses Offered in University of Ilorin 

With a staff strength of about 4,474; 48,000 undergraduates and more than 5,000 postgraduate students, the University of Ilorin offer 90 academic programmes across fifteen faculties.

The faculties and courses offered are as follows:

1. Faculty of Arts

The faculty of Arts offers the following courses:

  • Arabic
  • Performing Arts
  • History
  • English
  • Religions
  • Linguistics and Nigerian Languages
  • French
  • International Relations

2. Faculty of Agriculture

Courses offered in this faculty include:

  • Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  • Crop Protection
  • Aquaculture and Fisheries
  • Agric Economics and Farm Management
  • Agricultural and Biosystems
  • Home Economics and Food Science
  • Forest Resources Management
  • Animal Production; Agronomy.

3. Faculty Law

Courses under the faculty of Law include:

  • Private and Property Law,
  • Business Law,
  • Islamic Law,
  • Public Law,
  • Jurisprudence and International Law.

4. Environmental Sciences

5. Life Sciences

6. Faculty Management Sciences

This faculty offers courses such as:

  • Marketing
  • Public Administration
  • Finance
  • Accounting
  • Accounting and Finance
  • Business Administration.

7. Faculty Physical Sciences

  • Geology and Mineral Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Geo-Physics
  • Physics
  • Geology
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Geology & Mineral Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Statistics

8. Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Geography & Environmental Management
  • Geography & Environmental Science
  • Economics
  • Sociology
  • Political Science

9. Faculty of Communication and Information Sciences (CIS)

  • Information and Communication Science
  • Mass Communication
  • Computer Science
  • Library and Information Science
  • Telecommunication Science

10. Faculty of Education

  • Counsellor Education
  • Educational Managemen
  • Science Education
  • Arts Education
  • Arts and Social Science Education
  • Human Kinetics and Health Education.

11. Faculty of Engineering and Technology

The faculty offers Agric & Biosystem Engineering, Agric & Biosystem Engineering, Materials & Metallurgical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Electrical Engineering.

12. Pharmaceutical Sciences

The courses here include:

  • Pharmacology & Therapeutics
  • Pharmaceutical Microbiology
  • Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Pharmaceutical and Medical Chemistry.

13. Faculty Veterinary Medicine

This faculty offers courses such as:

  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Veterinary Microbiology
  • Veterinary Anatomy
  • Veterinary Pathology
  • Veterinary Physiology & Biochemistry
  • Veterinary Parasitology & Entomology
  • Veterinary Public Health and Preventive Medicine
  • Veterinary Microbiology & Parasitology
  • Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Anatomy.

14. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences 

Courses aligned under this faculty include:

  • Physiology
  • Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  •  Geography and Environmental Management
  • Pharmacology & Therapeutics
  • Pharmacology and Therapeutics
  • Anatomy
  • Medical Microbiology & Parasitology
  • Pathology
  • Hematology

15. Faculty of Clinical Sciences

  • Otorhinolaryngology
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Epidemiology and Community Health
  • Medicine
  • Pediatrics
  • Epidemiology and Community Health
  • Surgery
  • Behavioural Sciences
  • Radiology

The University of Ilorin also has two institutes (Institute of Education and Unilorin Sugar Research Institute) and the Postgraduate School.

See Also: How To Make Payments For Your ACCA Exams And Check Your ICAN Results

See also  How to Check JAMB Matriculation List

University of Ilorin Admission Process, School Fees and How to Access the Students Portal

University of Ilorin

The Unilorin students portal is open for:

  • Undergraduate
  • Postgraduate
  • Institute of Education
  • Ilorin Business School
  • Sasakawa
  • Remedial
  • Convocation Payment
  • Unilorin JUPEB (Joint Universities Preliminary Examinations Board)

The university accepts JAMB cut off score of at least 180 points and above for prospective students. To be eligible for clearance as an admitted candidate in the University, you are to complete the following requirements/steps:

Step 1: Profile Update 

1. Your admission must have been approved by the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) on their Central Admissions Processing System (CAPS).

2. Once you’ve accepted the admission, visit the UniIlorin Website; Under Portals, click on Undergraduate.

3. Click on the Pre-Admission Screening Login link on the Portal page.

4. Once you navigate to the page, use your JAMB Registration Number as Login ID and Surname as your default password, then click the login button.

5. Click on Check Admission Status link to confirm your admission status.

4. If you’ve read the Declaration Form and accepted the admission offer, you are to pay N20,000 as acceptance fee in a time range of 2 weeks.

Step 2: Procedure for Clearance 

1. Upload your documents as required for admission clearance.

    2. Pay the acceptance fee of N20,000 using your ATM Card within two weeks.
    3. Wait for clearance before proceeding to the next stage.
    4. Once you’re cleared, pay the sum of Five Thousand Naira (N5,000.00) for bandwidth usage.
    • 5. After clearance, then pay the appropriate school fees/University charges (Local and International charges) as provided in this


Step 3: Course Registration

After completing the above steps, you are required to visit and interact with your Level Adviser and/or HOD on the Courses you need to registered for your chosen Programme. Then do the following:

1. Login to your Portal and carefully update your bio-data on the university website.

2. You will be required to change your initial Password from your surname to a confidential one known to you alone. Ensure you master your new password. If you forget your password, the password recovery is available online.

Also, be mindful of the spellings and arrangements of your names based on the provided template.

3. Click on Course Registration link to proceed with your course registration as guided by the Level Adviser and/or HOD. Thereafter, click submit and wait for the approval of your Level Adviser.

4. Once that is done, print out your preliminary Course Registration Form and interact with your Level Adviser to authenticate the Courses you have selected before payment of outstanding charges (Faculty and Departmental) – pay the charges using your ATM Card.

The school warns that any student who fails to authenticate registered courses with the Level Adviser before making payments does so at his/her own risk as the student may be required to pay for Add/Drop Form to make any amendment.

Meanwhile, beware of fraudsters hanging around and outside the university while handling your payment card details.


Featured Today

Read This Next