List of Air Force Universities in Nigeria

Air Force Universities in Nigeria are the NDA Kaduna, the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) and the Nigerian Army University, Biu, Borno.

The Nigerian Defense Academy (NDA) Kaduna is Nigeria’s University where Air Force graduates immediately become commissioned officers upon graduation. Other Air Force Universities in Nigeria are the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) Kaduna (also known as the Nigeria Air Force University) and the Nigerian Army University, Biu, Borno.

These universities are situated in Northern Nigeria. They offer degrees and postgraduate courses in different faculties and are open to civilians. Apart from the three universities mentioned, the Nigeria Air Force School of Medical Science and Aviation Medicine Nursing is another Air Force institution located in Kaduna and which gives both Air Force students, other military sect, and civilians opportunities to study different courses.

Air Force Universities and What to Know About Them

The Nigerian Defense Academy (NDA)

  • Year Founded: 1964
  • Location: Kaduna
Air Force Universities in Nigeria
Image Source

The Nigerian Defense Academy (NDA) is a military institution that was incorporated into a degree-awarding institution in 1985 after being founded in 1964. It is a pioneer Military University in Sub-Saharan Africa and was earlier known as the Royal Military Forces Training College (RMFTC) before it later adopted its present name, Nigerian Military Training College (NMTC).

The institution trains students in the Army, Navy, and Air Force, and upon graduation, they become commissioned officers. As a graduate of the Nigerian Air Force from NDA, a student becomes a Pilot Officer – an equivalent second Lieutenant in the army and Midshipman in the Naval Force.

The Nigerian Air Force is the only university in Nigeria where one can become a full-fledged commissioned officer upon graduation. Some Air Force alumni of NDA are the Chief of Air Staff Hassan Abubakar, former governor of Bayelsa State, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha, and former Chief of the Air Staff, Isiaka Oladayo Amao.

Besides training the Air Force and other military sects, the NDA is also open to civilians for postgraduate studies.

NDA Kaduna has 5 faculties:

  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Art and Social Science
  • Faculty of Military Science
  • Faculty of Management Science

The Nigerian Army University, Biu

  • Year Founded: 2018
  • Location: Biu, Borno Local Government Area

The Nigerian Army University was established by the Goodluck Ebele Jonathan administration in 2018 as the first Nigerian Army University and Africa’s First Green University.

The institution located in Biu, Borno State, has 75% civilians and 25% military and paramilitary, despite being managed by the Nigerian army.

It was created to focus on innovation and technological development for the Nigerian defense sector.

To sum up this, the Nigerian Army University, Bui, is not a typical Air Force university. Nonetheless, as stated earlier, it makes up 25% of the military, including the Air Force. It offers academic learning to the Air Force, but students do not become Air Force commissioned officers upon graduation, as in the case of the Nigerian NDA.

Instead, if graduates must pursue careers in the Air Force, they must make another application and go through different routes. Regardless, Air Force personnel can enroll in degree and postgraduate courses.

The Nigerian Army University, Biu, has five faculties:

  • Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences
  • Faculty of Computing
  • Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  • Faculty of Engineering & Technology
  • Faculty of Arts, Management and Social Sciences

Some courses offered in the institution are Biology, Building, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Criminology and Security Studies, Cyber Security, Economics, Electrical/Electronics Engineering, Electronics, Environmental Management, Estate Management, Information Systems, Metallurgical Material Engineering, Military History, Peace Studies and Conflict, and Psychology.

Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Kaduna

  • Year Founded: 1977
  • Location: Kaduna
Air Force Universities in Nigeria
Image Source

The Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) is an institution that runs undergraduate and postgraduate programs in Aerospace engineering and similar disciplines. The school is accredited by many bodies, including the National Universities Commission (NUC).

AFIT was founded in 1977 after the Nigerian Civil War. It was earlier named NAF Technical and Supply School (TSS) before its name was changed to Technical Training Wing and was called NAF Technical Training Group (NAF TTG) in 1979.

Its name became the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) in 2008, and in 2018, its name also became the Nigeria Airforce University.

AFIT is a military school approved by the National Universities Commission to run undergraduate and postgraduate courses in 2018/2019. The school offers admission to both Air Force, other military parastatals, paramilitary, and civilians.

Nevertheless, it has a disclaimer on its students portal page that NAF personnel are not allowed to apply for its degree and remedial courses. The school, nonetheless, graduates Initial Officers and Basic Airmen/Airwomen in Sundry Military Courses.

AFIT provides basic training in Aeronautics, aerospace engineering, mechatronics engineering, and avionics. It is located in Kaduna state, Northern Nigeria.

The institution has 5 faculties – Faculty of Air Engineering, Faculty of Ground & Communication Engineering, Faculty of Computing, Faculty of Sciences, and Faculty of Social & Management Sciences.

Other Air Force Tertiary Institutions

The Nigerian Air Force College of Nursing Sciences (NAFCONS) 

This school was founded in 2016 and commissioned in 2019 under the Nigerian Air Force School of Medical Sciences and Aviation Medicine (NAFSMSAM). It is situated in Kaduna State and is accredited by the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (NMCN) and the National Board for Technical Education ((NBTE).

The school was created with the aim of training students under the Nigerian Air Force School of Medical Sciences and Aviation Medicine (NAFSMSAM) to meet the growing number of Air Force units and their medical needs.

Nigeria Air Force School of Medical Science and Aviation Medicine Nursing was initially only for Nigerian Air Force personnel. However, it is currently open to NAF, military and paramilitary personnel, and civilians who meet admission requirements.

The Nigerian Air Force College of Nursing Sciences runs a four-year uninterrupted

program for National Diploma (ND) and Higher National Diploma (HND). The school has no fewer than 6 departments. See them:

  • Department of Nursing Sciences
  • Department of Midwifery
  • Department of Public Health Nursing
  • Department of General Studies
  • Department of Postgraduate Studies
  • Department of Research and Development

To cap it, the Air Force is known for its extensive investment in Nigeria’s education. Therefore, apart from the universities and the school of nursing mentioned here, there are also numerous comprehensive, secondary, and girls schools across Nigeria.

They include:

  • Air Force Military School Jos, Plateau State
  • Air Force Girls’ Comprehensive School Jos, Plateau States
  • Air Force Comprehensive School Kaduna
  • Air Force Comprehensive School Kano
  • Air Force Comprehensive School Yola, Adamawa
  • Air Force Comprehensive School Uyo, Akwa Ibom
  • Air Force Comprehensive School Ibadan, Oyo State
  • Air Force Comprehensive School Enugu
  • Air Force Girls’ Comprehensive School Abuja
  • Air Force Secondary School Ikeja, Lagos
  • Air Force Secondary School Makurdi, Benue
  • Air Force Secondary School Port Harcourt, Rivers
  • Air Force Secondary School Shasha, Lagos


Featured Today

Read This Next