Nigerian Navy Department List and Uniform Types

The Nigerian Navy (NN) is a branch of the Nigerian Armed Forces that is concerned with defending and maintaining the sovereignty of the country’s waters. The Nigerian Navy is one of the largest navies on the African continent, consisting of about 25,000 personnel as of 2021. This branch of the armed forces helps to maintain law and order within the internal and territorial waters, and exclusive economic zones.

To fulfil its duties and register its significance, the Nigerian Navy have various departments and uniforms with varying functions. To understand the Nigerian Navy department as well as their uniform types, here are interesting facts we have to share with you.

How many Departments are there in Nigerian Navy?

The Nigerian Navy is a relatively small but capable force, with a total personnel strength of over 25,000. To effectively carry out its function, this arm of the Nigerian defence divides itself into various departments each with different functions and duties that contribute to the overall mission and effectiveness of the organization. The various departments in the Nigerian Navy are listed below.

  1. Naval Operations Department:- Responsible for overseeing and coordinating all operational activities of the Nigerian Navy, planning and executing naval operations, ensuring the protection of Nigeria’s maritime interests, and maintaining a strong presence at the sea to prevent illegal activities, such as piracy, smuggling, and illegal fishing.
  2. Engineering Department:- Responsible for the maintenance, repair, and development of the Nigerian Navy’s vessels and equipment. The department ensures the operational readiness of naval ships, submarines, aircraft, and support systems. it is also responsible for maintaining the technical efficiency and effectiveness of the Nigerian Navy’s assets.
  3. Naval Intelligence Department:- Responsible for gathering, analyzing, and disseminating intelligence related to maritime security threats and other relevant information. It supports operational planning and decision-making processes by providing timely and accurate intelligence to naval commanders. The department collaborates with other security agencies to monitor and counteract activities that pose a threat to Nigeria’s maritime interests.
  4. Finance and Budget Department:- It is the custodian of the Nigerian Navy’s funds. It is responsible for maintaining books and records that will ensure prompt and reliable reporting of the receipts and payments of the Navy. It also handles financial management, budgeting, and accounting for the Nigerian Navy.
  5. Logistics Department:- Responsible for handling the procurement, inventory management, and distribution of supplies, equipment, and provisions for the Navy.  This department ensures the availability of spare parts, fuel, ammunition, and other supplies necessary to support operational activities. It also plays the role of maintaining the operational readiness of the Nigerian Navy’s assets by providing timely and efficient logistical support.
  6. Naval Special Warfare Department:- This department is responsible for specialized maritime operations, including underwater demolition, special reconnaissance, and counterterrorism.
  7. Public Relations Department:- Responsible for managing public relations, media relations, and communication strategies with the aim of promoting the Navy’s activities and enhancing public perception.
  8. Naval Training/Education Department:- Responsible for the training and development of personnel within the Nigerian Navy. This department is also in charge of recruitment processes, conducts basic and specialized training programs, and provides continuous education and professional development opportunities for naval officers and ratings. The department is also responsible for ensuring that personnel are equipped with the necessary skills and knowledge to carry out their duties effectively.
  9. Medical Department:- Responsible for the health and well-being of naval personnel. It provides medical care, including preventive, curative, and rehabilitative services and operates naval hospitals, clinics, and sick bays. It ensures that personnel receive the necessary medical attention both ashore and at sea. It also plays a vital role in promoting health and hygiene practices within the Nigerian Navy.
  10. Naval Air Arm:- This department is responsible for the operation, maintenance, and support of naval aircraft, including fixed-wing planes and helicopters.
  11. Legal Services Department:- Responsible for offering legal advice, representation, and support to the Navy, ensuring compliance with legal and regulatory frameworks.
  12. Hydrography and Oceanography Department:- Responsible for conducting hydrographic surveys, charting, and oceanographic research to support safe navigation and maritime operations.
  13. Naval Information and Communication Technology Department:- Responsible for Managing the Navy’s information systems, communications networks, and cybersecurity initiatives.
  14. Naval Provost and Security Services Department:- Responsible for maintaining discipline, security, and law enforcement within the Navy. It also performs the function of military police.
See also  When Was EFCC Established and What Are The Functions Of The Organization?

Note: Aside from the departments listed above, there are offices that report directly to the Chief of Naval Staff (CNS), these include the Nigerian Navy Transformation Office (NNTO), Project Implementation, Monitoring and Evaluation Directorate (PIMED) and Nigerian Navy Holdings.

The Departments on Nigerian Navy Ships

There are four main departments on Nigerian Navy ships. These departments perform their functions under the leadership of an officer who is referred to as the head of the department.

The 4 departments on Nigerian Navy ships are:

  • Operations
  • Marine engineering
  • Weapon engineering
  • Logistics

What are the Different Types of Nigerian Navy Uniforms?

Just like the Nigerian Army and the Nigerian Airforce, the Nigerian Navy has different uniforms for different occasions. If you are wondering about the significance of each of the “rigs” worn by some Naval officials, here are intenerating facts to know.

The White Uniform (Liberty rig)

This is the Nigerian Navy’s ceremonial outfit. It is mostly won by Naval officials who are on admirative duties. Naval personnel also wear this when they are getting off the ship.

The Blue Uniform (Work Rig)

The working Rig, as the name implies is a navy blue uniform used by Naval officials during field work. This work rig is usually won by the Navy cadets.

The Camouflage

Nigerian Navy Department

Also known as “Camo” Nigerian Navy officials usually wear camouflage during combined military operations with other armed forces. There are two types of camo won by the armed forces – the desert camouflage (designed to blend with the terrain in the northern part of Nigeria,) and the Woodland camouflage (designed for the terrain in the South).

Before now, the various arms of the armed forces had their individual camouflage and the last Nigerian Navy camouflage was launched in October 2012 at the Naval Headquarters, Garki, Abuja.

former Navy Camo

In 2016, the Nigerian Armed Forces under the leadership of Tukur Burutai, launched a set of camouflage for its three branches –  the military, Airforce and Navy. In other words, the entire members of the Nigerian Armed Forces now use the same camouflage. However, what would differentiate soldiers now would be the tags on the left side of the chest, signifying whether the soldier is an Airforce, army or naval officer.


Featured Today

Read This Next