University Of Ibadan Withdraws 97 Students


The University of Ibadan (UI) senate has approved the withdrawal of 97 students from the University for failure to obtain the minimum academic requirements at the end of the 2014/15 session.

The Senate made this known through a special bulletin released by the institution and signed by its Registrar, Olujimi Olukoya. The registrar added that most of the students had lapsed studentship while three voluntarily withdrew from the institution.

“Senate at its meeting recently approved that the candidates whose names appear on this list should withdraw from the University for failure to obtain the minimum academic requirements at the end of the 2014/2015 session.”

The students expelled were from seven different faculties in the ‎university and are at various levels of education pursuit including those in final year.

Also See: UNN Listed Among World Best Universities

Meanwhile the National Universities Commission (NUC), has ranked the University of Ibadan (UI) first in its latest 2015 ranking.

Reacting to the latest ranking, the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Idowu Olayinka, said the institution was looking beyond being the first in the country to being among the top five in Africa in the next few years. He added that the premier university is positioned to achieve the feat owing to its highly developed post-graduate school with the largest number of masters and doctoral students in sub-Saharan Africa.

According to the NUC ranking, the first five universities that topped the list were: University of Ibadan (first), University of Lagos (second), University of Benin (third), Obafemi Awolowo University (fourth) and Ahmadu Bello University (fifth).

Others are:

6. University of Ilorin, UNILORIN

7. University of Jos, UNIJOS

8. University of Port Harcourt, UNIPORT

9. University of Maiduguri, UNIMAID

10. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta,

11. Lagos State University, LASU

12. Federal University of Technology, FUTO

13. Covenant University, CU

14. University of Nigeria, UNN

15. Federal University of Technology, FUTA

16. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, UNIZIK

17. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, ESUT

18. Pan African University

19. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Lautech

20. Modibbo Adama University of Technology

21. African University of Science and Technology

22. University of Uyo, UNIUYO

23. Bayero University Kano, BUK

24. Ambrose Alli University, AAU

25. Redeemer’s University Of Nigeria, RUN

26. Babcock University

27. Federal University of Technology, MINNA

28. University of Calabar, UNICAL

29. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike

30. Ajayi Crowther University

31. Bowen University

32. Rivers State University of Science and Technology, RSUST

33. Lead City University

34. Crawford University

35. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, ATBU

36. Abia State University, ABSU

37. Usmanu Danfodio University

38. Igbinedion University, Okada

39. Imo State University, Imsu

40. Niger Delta University

41. Bells University of Technology

42. Kwara State University

43. Nasarawa State University

44. Caleb University

45. Obong University

46. Adekunle Ajasin University

47. Ekiti State University, Ekiti

48. American University of Nigeria

49. Joseph Ayo Babalola University

50. Veritas University, Abuja

51. Afe Babalola University

52. Kaduna State University, Kaduna

53. Osun State University, Oshogbo

54. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina

55. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike

56. Salem University, Lokoja

57. Novena University, Ogume

58. Achievers University, Owo Owo

59. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

60. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki

61. University of Abuja, Abuja

62. University of Mkar, Mkar

63. Madonna University, Okija

64. Bingham University, Auta Balifi

65. Plateau State University, Bokkos

66. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun

67. Federal University, Dutse

68. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja

69. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai

70. Landmark University, Omu-Aran

71. Delta State University, Abraka Abraka

72. University of Agriculture, Makurdi Makurdi

73. Renaissance University, Enugu

74. Federal University, Otuoke

75. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu-Ode

76. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti Oye

77. Kano State University of Technology, Wudil

78. Tansian University, Umunya

79. Akwa Ibom State University, Uyo

80. Baze University, Abuja

81. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero

82. Benue State University, Makurdi

83. Adeleke University, Ede

84. Ondo State University of Science & Technology, Okitipupa

85. Kogi State University Anyigba

86. Western Delta University, Oghara

87. Federal University, Wukari Wukari

88. Paul University, Awka

89. Caritas University, Enugu

90. Federal University, Lafia Lafia

91. Cross River University of Science & Technology, Calabar

92. Fountain University Oshogbo

93. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin

94. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike

95. Oduduwa University, Ile Ife

96. Anambra State University , Uli

97. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye

98. Federal University, Lokoja

99. Federal University, Kashere Kashe

100. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa

Also See: “There Will Be No Special Centers For 2016 UTME” – JAMB