Super Falcons Invite Oshoala And 39 Others For AWCON Qualifiers


The Super Falcons technical crew, headed by Florence Omagbemi, has called to camp 40 players ahead of the 2016 Africa Women Cup of Nations qualifying fixture against either of Senegal or Guinea.

AWCON seven time champions, Super Falcons have drawn bye into the second round of the qualifying series, with the final competition to hold in Cameroon in November.

The senior women teams of Senegal and Guinea will contend over two legs in March, with the winner to face the Super Falcons in home-and-away contests between 4th – 12th April.

All invited players are expected to report at Serob Legacy Hotel, Wuye, Abuja on Tuesday, March 1.

Read Also: No Going Back: “I’m Done With Super Eagles”- Emenike

Top of the list of invited foreign-based players for the game are current BBC African Footballer of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, and Guingamp forward, Desire Oparanozie.

Among others called are goalkeepers Ibubeleye Whyte and Sandra Chichi, defenders: Onome Ebi, Josephine Chukwunonye, Ngozi Ebere and Joy Jegede, midfielders: Halimatu Ayinde, Ngozi Okobi, Evelyn Nwabuoku and Joy Bokiri, Chinwendu Ihezuo and Francisca Ordega.

Here’s the full list of invited players:

  • Ibubeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels)
  • Sandra Chichi (Bayelsa Queens)
  • Christy Ohiaeriaku (Osun Babes)
  • Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Inneh Queens)
  • Onome Ebi (FC Minsk, Belarus)
  • Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars)
  • Josephine Chukwunonye (Vittsjoe GIK, Sweden)
  • Osinachi Ohale (Rivers Angels)
  • Ngozi Ebere (PSG Ladies, France)
  • Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons)
  • Ugo Njoku (Rivers Angels)
  • Chisom Henry (Sunshine Queens)
  • Faith Ikidi (Pitea FC, Sweden)
  • Ayomide Ojo (Police Machine)
  • Joy Jegede (Delta Queens)
  • Gladys Akpa (Sunshine Queens)
  • Halimatu Ayinde (New York Flash, USA)
  • Desire Oparanozie (EN Avent de Guingamp, France)
  • Ngozi Okobi (Vittsjoe GIK, Sweden)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Liverpool Ladies, England)
  • Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels)
  • Evelyn Nwabuoku (Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)
  • Martina Ohadugha (Rivers Angels)
  • Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens)
  • Rita Chikwelu (Umea IK, Sweden)
  • Ginika Nkeoma (Bayelsa Queens)
  • Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons)
  • Chioma Wogu (Kogi Confluence)
  • Esther Sunday (Trabzon Idman Ozagi, Turkey)
  • Winifred Eyebhokia (Nasarawa Amazons)
  • Chinwendu Ihezuo;
  • Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA)
  •  Chinaza Uchendu (Nasarawa Amazons)
  • Loveth Ayila (Rivers Angels)
  • Ebere Orji (Ferencvaros, Hungary)
  • Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens)
  • Victoria Aidelomon (Bayelsa Queens)
  • Abibat Agbaji (Confluence Queens)
  • Ijeoma Obi (Sunshine Queens)
  • Emueje Oghiagbevha (Delta Queens)

Also Read: Asisat Oshoala To Speak At FIFA Women’s Football And Leadership Conference