Siasia Releases List Of 42 Players Ahead Of AFCON Qualifiers


Super Eagles caretaker coach, Samson Siasia, has released a list of 42 players who are to be invited for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) double header against Egypt.

22 home-based and 20 Foreign-based players will get their invitation for the March 25 and 29 fixtures and are expected to resume camp March 6th.

The 22 home-based Eagles are expected to be in camp at the Bolton White Apartments, Abuja on Sunday, March 6 before the foreign-based boys arrive as from Sunday, March 20 to join the team.

The first leg of the qualifier is scheduled to take place in Kaduna on March 25, while the return-leg is billed for Alexandria, Egypt on March 29.

Siasia told pressmen that the best legs were invited to ensure victory for the team in Kaduna, when he unveiled the list in Abuja after a meeting with the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Technical and Development Committee.

Also Read: FIFA Ranks Nigeria As Africa’s 11th Best Team

Aaron Samuel, a long term absentee, makes a return to the national team since Nigeria’s failure to qualify for the last Nations Cup.

Siasia, who was named last week as Super Eagles’ Caretaker Coach, passionately appealed to all Nigerians, including the sporting media, to rally round the team and show belief as the Eagles host the Egyptians in Kaduna on Friday, March 25 and play away in Alexandria on Tuesday, March 29.

He said:

I want to passionately appeal to Nigerians, everybody, to show belief in the team and give us total support. It will not be easy, but if we stick together and present a united force to fight this battle, I believe we will triumph.

Here’s a full list of the 42 players invited.

Home-based Pros:


  • Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars)
  • Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba FC)
  • Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)


  • Kalu Orji Okogbue (Enugu Rangers);
  • Chibuzor Okonkwo (IfeanyiUbah);
  • Mathew Etim (Enugu Rangers);
  • Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors);
  • Sincere Seth (Rhapsody);
  • Segun Oduduwa (Nath Boys);
  • Chima Akas (Akwa United);
  • Chris Madaki (Kano Pillars);
  • Oke Ogogatewho (Sunshine Stars).


  • Ifeanyi Mathew (Kano Pillars);
  • Usman Mohammed (Taraba);
  • Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves);
  • Yau Hassan (Wikki Tourists);
  • Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves).


  • Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC);
  • Prince Aggrey (Kano Pillars);
  • Bright Onyedikachi (IfeanyiUbah);
  • Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors);
  • Godwin Obaje (Wikki Tourists).


Overseas-based Pros:


  • Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England);
  • Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)


  • Efe Ambrose (Celtic, Scotland);
  • Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal);
  • Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France);
  • Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense, Portugal);
  • Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey);
  • Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey).


  • Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio, Italy);
  • Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England);
  • Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England);
  • Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Matalyspor, Turkey).


  • Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia);
  • Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium);
  • Victor Moses (West Ham United, England);
  • Aminu Umar (Osmanlispor, Turkey);
  • Odion Ighalo (Watford, England);
  • Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia);
  • Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England);
  • Fanendo Adi (Portland Timbers, USA).

Also See: Super Falcons Invite Oshoala And 39 Others For AWCON Qualifiers