Senate Probes NNPC Unbundling By Federal Government


The Senate has begun the process to examine the issues surrounding the Federal Government’s decision to unbundle the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, into seven units.

This came, followed a Point of Order raised by the Chief Whip, Prof. Olusola Adeyeye, on Wednesday who drew the attention of the Senators to the unbundling of the nation’s agency responsible for regulating the oil and gas sector.

Adeyeye described the exercise as illegal as the federal government did not consult the National Assembly to repeal the enabling law that set up the organisation, before breaking it into different components.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, directed Adeyeye to formally present a motion on the development for “extensive debate’’ today, being Thursday, March 10th.

Yesterday, following the news of the unbundling, oil workers held protests against the federal government’s decision to unbundle the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, which paralyzed activities in the  corporation.

The oil workers accused the Federal government of violating the law establishing the NNPC, adding that the corporation was established through the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, Act of  1977.

The NNPC Act specifically states that the Act or any part thereof can only be altered, changed or otherwise amended by the Act of the National Assembly.

The Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria, PENGASSAN, and National Union of of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers, NUPENG, shut  NNPC offices in protest against the move, sparking off fears of worsening fuel scarcity.

The workers, acting on the platform of NUPENG, and PENGASSAN, shut the gates leading to the NNPC Towers as early as 6.30am and prevented movement in and out of the towers.

The workers said they were not against the unbundling, but insisted that it must be done in accordance with the law of the land and that all stakeholders, especially PENGASSAN and NUPENG, must be carried along.

Read Also: Federal Government Splits NNPC Into 7 Operational Units