Cristiano Ronaldo Crowned UEFA’s Best Player In Europe


Cristiano Ronaldo has been named as UEFA’s Best Player in Europe.

The Real Madrid and Portugal striker was given the award on Thursday.

Ronaldo won two of Europe’s biggest trophies last season: the Champions League with Madrid and the Euro 2016 with Portugal.

The 31-year-old Portuguese received the award for the second time in his career after finishing ahead of Real team-mate Gareth Bale and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann.

READ ALSO:  Cristiano Ronaldo To Extend Contract At Real Madrid


An excited Ronaldo after receiving the award told reporters:

“I’m obviously delighted to receive this award, it’s been an incredible season.

“But these two other players deserve it as well

“As I said on the stage, he [Griezmann] deserved to win this trophy.

“He lost two finals so it was unlucky for him.

“But I think he’s a fantastic player, he’s a good boy, he’s my neighbour – he lives next to me – and he deserved it.

“But he will win for sure one day – I hope so.”

Ronaldo picked up this season’s title after leading Portugal to their first-ever European Championship title and also winning the Champions League with Madrid.

Ronaldo Named UEFA’s Best Player

Ronaldo previously won the UEFA Best Player Award in 2013 as well as in 2014.

The award was voted for by journalists from each of UEFA’s 55 member associations.

READ ALSO:  Madeira Airport To Be Named After Cristiano Ronaldo

Ronaldo struck the winning spot-kick as Real claimed a record 11th European Cup title, beating city rivals Atletico on penalties in May, before leading his country to Euro 2016 glory.

The Real Madrid forward, who has scored 32 goals for his club so far this year, is also hoping to collect his fourth Ballon d’Or. but refused to take all the credit without thanking his team-mates.

An ever-so-humble Ronaldo refused taking all the credit, but rather appreciated his teammates for the success.


Norway striker Ada Hegerberg won the female category of the UEFA Best Player Award, ahead of France’s Amandine Henry and Dzsenifer Marozsan of Germany.