Ronald Koeman On His Way To Everton


Reports has it that Everton have approached Southampton boss Ronald Koeman about becoming their new manager and if the Dutchman agrees to leave his current club to replace Roberto Martínez, he will be on the list of one of the highest paid managers in the Premier League.

According to reports, the talks is being  led by Everton’s majority shareholder Farhad Moshiri and the club now have to agree to the compensation before the talks can progress.

Koeman is in line to earn £6m a year, and will be joined in Merseyside by Sevilla sporting director Monchi if talks with the pair result in terms being agreed.

Also See: World’s Best-Paid Football Managers, Where Does Mourinho Rank?

Moshiri seem to believe Koeman is the man to lead an extensive summer recruitment operation as the Iranian billionaire looks to return Everton to the upper reaches of the top-flight after a disappointing campaign.

Roberto Martinez Everton
Everton’s Former Coach Roberto Martinez

Moshiri has pledged to provide funds to Martínez’s successor with Koeman becoming frustrated with Southampton’s willingness to sell leading talent in recent season. Manuel Pellegrini, Unai Emery, David Moyes and Frank de Boer are among other candidates being scouted for by Moshiri but Koeman remains the first-choice option.

Koeman has led Southampton to a sixth-place finish in the Premier League, five positions ahead of Everton, with Roberto Martinez losing his job as a consequence of the Everton’s underachievement. The Merseysiders reached the semi-finals of both domestic cups this season, but Martinez was sacked on May 12 after a slump in their league form and a run of just six wins at Goodison Park in the 2015/16 campaign.

Also See: Ryan Giggs To Leave Manchester United To Pursue Managerial Jobs

Meanwhile, Monchi is also attracting interest from Paris Saint-Germain but the Toffees remain confident of persuading the Spaniard to join them once they settle a compensation package in the region of £3.8m with the Europa League winners.