CAF Awards: Riyad Mahrez Is African’s Best Footballer For 2016


Algerian attacker and Leicester City winger, Riyad Mahrez has been named the African Footballer of the Year 2016.

The 25-year-old Algerian who was announced best African footballer of the year 2016 at the 2016 Glo CAF Awards which held in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital city on Thursday beat Gabonese striker, Pierre Emerick Aubamenyang who was last year’s winner and Senegal’s Sadio Mane to claim the title.

Also See: Hull City Confirms Marco Silva As New Manager

CAF revealed that Mahrez had polled 361 votes to beat Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund into second place, while Liverpool midfielder Sadio Mane was third.

Mahrez is the third French-born player to win the award, after Frederic Kanoute and Aubameyang, and the third Algerian international since Lakhdar Belloumi in 1981 and Rabah Madjer in 1987.

This is the second award Riyad Mahrez has received for being the best player in Africa in one month, after winning the BBC’s award. Mahrez scored 17 Premier League goals and assisted 11 in the Foxes’ shock title win under Claudio Ranieri in 2015-16.

Mahrez is the third French-born player to win the award, after Frederic Kanoute and Aubameyang.

Mahrez was also announced as the seventh-highest finisher in Ballon d’Or voting, with team-mate Jamie Vardy a place behind in eighth.

He has also excelled on the international stage for Algeria to help them qualify for next month’s Africa Cup of Nations, delivering five assists and two goals across five matches.

It was a good night for Nigeria as Asisat Oshoala won the award for Women Player of the Year.

Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho, who has scored 20 goals in 52 appearances for his club, was named Africa’s ‘Most Promising Talent’, an honour the 20-year-old Nigerian also previously received three years ago.

Also See: Amazing! 105-Year-Old Man Sets Historic Cycling Record

The record-breaking Super Falcons of Nigeria rode on the back of their triumph at the 2016 African Women’s Nations Cup to emerge Women’s National Team of the Year.