List Of Retired Military Officers Spark Controversy As Yar’Adua And Jonathan’s Aides Are Sent Packing


The list of  the recently retired military officers is out. With the list finally in the public domain, the official explanation given by the Army is beginning to attract scrutiny.

Army Spokesman Col. Sani Usman earlier said the officers were retired over two allegations, partisanship and corruption.

Analysts are beginning to read between the lines, claiming the exercise is a political witch hunt with ethnic undertones, pointing to the fact that majority of the affected officers hail from the southern parts of the country and have close ties to previous regimes.

See Also: Army Council Retires Senior Officers Over Partisanship

The list of retired military officers includes former Aide De Camp to former President Goodluck Jonathan, Col Ojogbane Adegbe, and Brig Gen MD Onoiveta , former ADC to  former President Yar’Adua.

Also on the list is Major-General Letam Wiwa, a younger brother of the late environmental rights activist, Ken Saro-Wiwa and Col. Tonye Minimah, a younger brother of the former Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant-General Kenneth Minimah. Also affected was Col.Nicholas Achinze, a former military assistant to Owoye Azazi, and Sambo Dasuki, National Security Advisers under Jonathan.

See The List Below;

  1. Maj Gen Mobolaji Koleoso
  2. Maj. General TC Ude
  3. Maj Gen SD Aliyu
  4. Maj Gen LC Ilo
  5. Maj Gen PAT Akem
  6. Maj Gen IN Ijoma
  7. Maj. Gen O Ejimai
  8. Maj Gen ED Atewe
  9. Maj. General Letam Wiwa
  10. Maj. Gen FO Alli
  11. Maj. General MY Ibrahim
  12. Brigadier Gen D Abdusalam
  13. Brigadier General MG Ali
  14. Brigadier General AI Onibasa
  15. Brigadier Gen. M.D Onoyiveta
  16. Brigadier General Bright Fiboinumama
  17. Brigadier General GO Agachi
  18. Brigadier General Okonkwo
  19. Brig Gen Bashir Mormoni
  20. Brig Gen AH Sa’ad
  21. Brig Gen IMD Lawson
  22. Brig Gen Koko Essien
  23. Brig Gen Ogidi
  24. Brig Gen LN Bello
  25. Brig. General PE Ekpeyong
  26. Brig Gen Oyefesobi
  27. Col. Ojogbane Adegbe
  28. Col. CK Ukoha
  29. Col. Tonye F Minimah
  30. Col DR Hassan
  31. Col FD Kayode
  32. Col OU Nwankwo
  33. Col. MA Suleiman
  34. Col. Audu
  35. Col. Nicholas Achinze
  36. Lt. Col GC Nyekwu
  37. Lt Col TE Arigbe
  38. Lt. Col C Enechukwu
  39. Lt. Col TO Oladuntoye
  40. Lt. Col CO Amadi
  41. Lt. Col Adimoha
  42. Lt. Col DB Dazang
  43. Lt. Col OC Egemode
  44. Lt. Col Baba Ochankpa
  45. Lt. Col A Mohammed
  46. Lt. Col AS Mohammed
  47. Major TA Williams

Topics: >