JUST IN: Police Retires 21 AIGs; Joseph Mbu, Ringim Included


Controversial Former Rivers State Commissioner of Police, Mbu Joseph Mbu and former Head of the Special Fraud Unit, Johnson Ogunsakin, were among the 21 Assistant Inspectors General of Police retired on Friday from the Force.

The announcement of their retirement was made by the Police Service Commission. According to its spokesman, the AIGs were retired because they were senior in standing to the recently appointed Acting Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris.

The statement said:

 “The Police Service Commission has approved the retirement of 21 Assistant Inspectors General of Police who were senior to the new acting Inspector General of Police, Idris Ibrahim, before his appointment.”

Also See: Nigerians Have Lost Confidence In Security Agents, Police – CP

The Chairman of the Police Service Commission, Sir  Mike Okiro, wished the affected officers well in their future endeavours.

Below is the list of the retired AIGs:

1 Bala A Hassan

2.Yahaya Garba Ardo

3.Irmiya F Yarima.

4.Danladi Y Mshebwala

5.Tambari Y. Mohammed

6.Bala Magaji Nasarawa

7.Musa Abdulsalam

8.Adisa Bolanta

9.Mohammed J Gana

10.Umaru Abubakar Manko

11.Lawal Tanko

12.Olufemi A. Adenike

13.Johnson A Ogunsakin

14.Adenrele T. Shinaba

15.James O. Caulcrick

16.Olufefemi David Ogumbayode

17.Edgar T Nanakumo

18.Kalafite H. Adeyemi

19.Patrick D Dokumor

20.Mbu Joseph Mbu

21.Sabo Ibrahim Ringim.

Its would not be a surprise if the name of Mr. Joseph Mbu garners more attention given his infamous role in the face-off between the then President Goodluck Jonathan and Former Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi.

Nigeria’s foremost Nobel Laureate Prof. Wole Soyinka once referred to him as one cop “tough enough to combat the Islamic terrorist group Boko Haram

Details To Follow Shortly.