Rochas Okorocha: Gov Appoints Sister As Commissioner For Happiness


Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State has sworn in his biological sister, Mrs. Ogechi Ololo (nee Okorocha) as the state’s Commissioner for Happiness and Purpose Fulfillment.

Mrs Ololo was sworn in on Monday, Dec 4th, alongside 27 other new commissioners and 27 Transition Committee Chairmen for the 27 local government councils in the state, in a ceremony which took place at the Imo International Convention Center, IICC, Owerri.

Before her new appointment, Mrs Ololo served as her brother’s Deputy Chief of Staff and Special Adviser on Domestic Matters.

Ololo, who is married to Chuks, an engineer, was the All Progressives Congress’ candidate into the House of Representatives for the Owerri Federal Constituency seat in 2015 and she has served in various capacities since Okorocha became the state governor in 2011.

See Also: Rochas Okorocha Reveals Cost Of Erecting Imo Statues

At the event, Okorocha announced that his government created the new ministry – Ministry of Happiness and Purpose fulfilment which would be headed by Ogechi Ololo.

According to Okorocha, the Transition Committee chairmen, have only “maximum of six months to stay in office, after which an election will be conducted to give way for elected chairmen.”

He also said that by January the Imo state council of Traditional rulers will have their election to elect a new executive. He added that some of the ministries have been moved out of Owerri to villages, such as Ministry of Agriculture to Ngor Okpala local government area, while the Ministry of Tourism to be taken to Oguta local government area.

See Also: Legislators Receive 20 More Exotic Cars, 100 More To Arrive

Okorocha charged the new appointees to work as if they have only a few weeks to deliver and leave their marks in their respective Ministries and Local Governments, adding that they have come to be part of the success story of the administration and to contribute their own quotas. Hear him:

“You are the privileged group that has the opportunity to make names for yourselves and put your signatures in the sands of time. I want to remind all of you that this appointment is not business as usual.

“We shall not tolerate any sharp practice or corruption of any type. Neither shall we accept indolence or laziness. You have been called to duty to help us achieve our vision in the Rescue Mission Project.

“At this moment, I charge you all to be good ambassadors of the Rescue Mission wherever you find yourselves. To the Transition Committee Chairman, you must ensure that on-going projects must be completed especially the Schools, Chapels etc”.

The governor reiterated that his administration’s achievement has so far exceeded that of all the previous administrations in the state, both civilian and military, put together, and challenged anyone with a contrary claim to make it public.

He stated that his administration has completed more than one thousand projects and pledged to do everything possible to complete the outstanding projects before May 29, 2019.

Read Again: Court Orders Ex-Gov Chimaroke Nnamani’s Arrest Over Fraud

Below is the list of the new Commissioners and their portfolios:

  • Prof. Nnamdi Obiaraeri (Information)
  • Lady Barr. Ugochi Nnana – Okoro (Agric. & Food Security)
  • Hon. Gertrude Oduka (Primary & Secondary Education)
  • Chief Dr. Jones Uzoka (Niger Delta Affairs)
  • Hon. Uchendu Chijioke Mark (Public Utilities)
  • Hon. Gerald C. Okolie (Rural Development)
  • Hon. Dr. Cyril Okafor (Tourism)
  • Engr. Emmanuel Umunnakwe Ojinere (Trade & Investment)
  • Chief Lasbery Anyanwu (Transport)
  • Hon. Onwueyiagwu Valentine (Youth Development)
  • Hon. Barr. Mrs. Ngozi Njoku (Gender & Social Development)
  • Hon. Chief Mrs Josephine Udoji (Works)
  • Hon. Achilike Nwawuike (Internal Resources & Pension Matters)
  • Prof. Emenalo Chizoba (Tertiary Education)
  • Hon. Nwamerenini Chukwuka (Labour)
  • Hon. Dr. Iyke Njoku (Planning, Budget & Statistics)
  • Hon. Barr. Emma Ibediro (Local Government)
  • Hon. Barr. Obinna Mbata (Finance)
  • Hon Dr. Martin Ohiri (Sports)
  • Hon. Mgbeanulu Obinna (Environment & Natural Resources)
  • Hon. Emma Buka Iwuanyanwu (Science & Technology & Vocational Education)
  • Hon Dr. Mrs. Angela Uwakwem (Health)
  • Hon. Lady Joy Mbawuike (Informal Sector & Market Development)
  • Hon. Barr. Chief Tony Umezuruike (Housing)
  • Hon. Prince Chidi Nwaturuocha (Public Safety)
  • Hon Dr. Ernest Nwigbo (Inter-Government Affairs & Donor Agencies)
  • Hon Duru Okechukwu (CGC & Traditional Affairs)
  • Hon. Emeka Benjamin (Special Duties).
  • Chief Kingsley Uju  (Supervisory Commissioner Ministry of Land and Chairman Bureau for Land)
  • Mrs. Ogechi Ololo (Commissioner for Happiness and Couples’ Fulfillment).

Also See: Nigerians React To Atiku Rejoining PDP

The new Transition Committee Chairmen include;

  • Okechukwu Victor Onyechere (Ideato South)
  • Barrister Onomeze (Ihitte Uboma)
  • Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru)
  • Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano)
  • Barr. Akas Paschal (Isu)
  • Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli)
  • Eke Sylvester Chidi (Ngor Okpala)
  • Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba)
  • Barrister Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre)
  • Chief Bona Akwaiwu (Nwangele)
  • Chidi Nwoke, (Obowo)
  • Barr. Mgborokwu G. (Oguta)
  • Amadi Ebenezar (Ohaji/Egbema)
  • Benneth Ilochuonwu, (Okigwe)
  • Uche Lebechi, (Onuimo)
  • Onyeocha Obinna, (Orlu)
  • Mrs. Ihekire Ngozi, (Orsu)
  • Barrister Duru Evaristus, (Oru East)
  • Okoro Obinna, (Oru West)
  • Ojirisi Alex, (Owerri Municipal)
  • Mrs. Esther Eburuche, (Aboh Mbaise)
  • Sir Edmund Enwereji, (Ahiazu Mbaise)
  • Onuoha Franca, (Ehime Mbano)
  • Anyanwu Bob, (Ezinihitte Mbaise)
  • Kingsley Uche Onwuka, (Ideato North)
  • Ofurum Kelechi, (Owerri North)
  • Hon. Osigwe Victor, (Owerri West).