NUC Approves Borno State University


The National Universities Commission (NUC) on Monday approved the commencement of academic programmes at the Borno State University, Maiduguri.

The NUC Executive Secretary, Prof. Abubakar Adamu, announced this during the formal presentation of a letter of request by the Executive Governor of Borno State, Gov. Kashim Shettima, in Abuja.

Also See: See Why Some Private School Owners In Lagos Are Selling Them Off

 “After listening to the passionate speech by his Excellency on the restoration projects in Borno, particularly the reconstruction and the restoration of the structures and infrastructures of education in Borno, it is my pleasure to convey the decision of the National Universities Commission in the letter signed today, Nov. 7, 2016, the recognition of the Borno State University.

Adamu said that the university was expected to start admitting new students with the hope of graduating them in the next four years.

 Borno State University
NUC approves Borno State University

With this, Borno State University becomes the 44th state government-owned  and the 144th in the university system in the country.

 “Sequel to the formal presentation of the relevant gazetted law, academic brief and physical master plan and a satisfactory report from the advisory review source assessment visit, Borno State University located in Maiduguri, has been recognised as the 44th state university.

“It is the 144th university in the Nigerian university system,’’Adamu said.

Just last week,  the Federal Executive Council, FEC, approved eight new private universities in the country.

The Minister of State for Education, Prof. Anthony Onwuka, said the universities were approved based on the recommendation of the National Universities Commission (NUC) and would be given three year provisional licences.

He also added that the universities have also been assigned approved mentors.

Also See: Stop Or Face The Wrath Of God – Bishop Oyedepo Warns Critics Of High Covenant Varsity Fees

The new private universities include: Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos,  Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River, Clifford University, Owerrinta, Abia,  Coal City University,  Crown-Hill University, Eiyenkorin, Kwara, Dominican University, Ibadan,  Kola Daisi University, Ibadan, and  Legacy University, Okija, Anambra.