Full List Of Nigerian Athletes Set For Rio 2016 Olympics


The Athletic Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has released a selected list of 35 Nigerian athletes for next month’s Rio 2016 Olympic Games which will run from 12th – 21st August, 2016 in Brazil.

According to a statement released on Tuesday by Olukayode Thomas, AFN head of Media and Communication, Blessing Okagbare and Seye Ogunlewe who finished as the fastest athletes at the recently concluded national trials held in Sapele, Delta state are top on the list.

Okagbare will be competing for honours in the sprints, long jump and the 4x100m relay in Brazil. The reigning Commonwealth double sprints queen and former African 100m record holder will compete in the 100m, 200m and long jump events.

Read Also: Blessing Okagbare Fires Warning Ahead Of Rio Olympics

Okagbare will be gunning for her second Olympic medal in Rio after jumping to a bronze medal finish in her debut in 2008 in Beijing.

Nigerian athletes

Others in the women 100m and 4x100m roster are: Madu Jennifer, Gloria Asumnu, Uko Peace, Osazuwa Agnes, Sanni Zainab Francis Cecilia, Khadijat Suleman, and Ekpone Olivia.

The women 400m and the women 4x400m are: George Patience Okon, Bamgbose Margaret, Omotoso Omolara Grace, George Regina, Ajayi Yinka, Ossai Rita Vivian, Mayungbe Blessing and Sogbesan Ekundayo.

Oluwatobiloba Amusan will be competing in the 100m hurdles,  Amaka Ogoegbunam in 400m hurdles,  Doreen Amata in High Jump, Brume Ese in Long Jump, Okoro Chinwe in Discus,  Nwanneka Okwelogu in Shot Put and Uhunoma Osazuwa in Heptathlon .

Apart from Nigeria’s reigning fastest man Seye Ogunlewe and Egwero Ogho-Oghene, Monzavous Edward will also be competing in the 100m. Odele Oghenetega and Oduduru Divine are listed to compete in 200m.

Orukpe Eraiyokan is pencilled for the 400m, Anthon Hicks 110m, Ukaoma Miles 400m, reigning African triple jump king Oke Tosin, Olamigoke Olumide.

Also in is shot putter, Stephen Mozia whose 20.73m effort last May at the Kentucky Relays in Lexington, USA rewrote the 20.18m record he set on April 18 last year will be competing in his first Olympics.


100m: Seye Ogunlewe, Ogho-Oghene Egwero, Monzavous Edwards

200m: Divine Oduduru, Tega Odele

400m: Orukpe Erayokan

110 Hurdles: Antwon Hicks

400m Hurdles: Miles Ukaoma

Triple Jump: Tosin Oke, Olu Olamigoke

Shot put: Stephen Mozia

Also Read: NFF Okays Paul Le Guen As New Super Eagles Coach


100m: Blessing Okagbare, Gloria Asumnu, Peace Uko

200m: Blessing Okagbare

400m: Patience Okon-George, Omolara Omotosho, Margaret Bamgbose

100m Hurdles: Oluwatobiloba Amusan

400m Hurdles: Amaka Ogoegbunam

High Jump: Doreen Amata

Long Jump: Ese Brume, Blessing Okagbare

Discus: Chinwe Okoro

Shot put: Nwanneka Okwelogu

Heptathlon: Uhunoma Osazuwa

4x100m: Blessing Okagbare, Jennifer Madu, Gloria Asumnu, Peace Uko, Agnes Osazuwa, Zainab Sanni, Cecilia Francis, Khadijat Suleman, Olivia Ekpone

4x400m: Patience Okon-George, Margaret Bamgbose, Omolara Omotosho, Regina George, Yinka Ajayi, Rita Ossai, Ibukun Mayungbe, Ekundayo Sogbesan.