Home Tags APC

Tag: APC

The All Progressive Congress APC is one of Nigeria’s newly formed party aimed at taking on the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s first democratically elected party in the fourth republic.

It was formed in February 6th 2013, through an alliance of four Nigeria’s biggest opposition parties – Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN); All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP); Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and a faction of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) – who merged to battle it out with the then ruling People’s Democratic Party PDP in the 2015 general elections.

The move towards the formation of the APC was started by the National Leaders of ACN Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu and that of CPC Retired Muhammadu Buhari, having realized what led to the so called 2011 electoral misfortune

Two separate conventions were held at that time to consider and approve the merging of these political parties and groups, with new name APC acronym as well as the constitution, manifesto, flag, logo and slogan of the new party.

APC was officially signed in and approved by the Independent Electoral Commission on 31 July, 2013 alongside other parties namely African People’s Congress and All Patriotic Citizens. The party was signed in as the representatives of the four merged parties namely – Tom Ikimi for ACN, Senator Annie Okonkwo for APGA, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau for ANPP and Garba Shehu for CPC – officially signed to resolve their parties.

No doubt, the emergence of the All Progressive Congress saw a huge political change of power as a large number of the ruling party members carpet-crossed to the new party.

On November 25, Five Governors from PDP announced their decision to join APC. These governors include Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto), Rabiu Kwakwaso (Kano);  Murtala Nyako (Adamawa);  and Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara).

On December 18, 2013, Thirty-seven (37) out of the 208 PDP members in the House of Representatives also defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC). The defection was contained in a letter read by the Speaker, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal, on the floor of the House bringing the total to 174.

On January 29, 2014, 11 senators from the People’s Democratic Party also defected to the APC. Among the senators that defected are Bukola Saraki, Mohammed Ndume, Danjuma Goje and Abdullahi Adamu. The senators communicated their decision to decamp to the APC in a letter addressed to the Senate President, David Mark.

A number of its leaders are either followers of a politician or politicians who subscribe to the social democratic political philosophy of Obafemi Awolowo and the socialist and anti-class views of Aminu Kano. Moreover, the majority of the APC’s base of political support is in southwestern Nigeria and the Northern Nigeria, which are dominated by the country’s largest ethnic groups, the Yoruba and the Hausa-Fulani, respectively.

The party, at its establishment, has the vision of securing the Nation’s territorial integrity; improve National Security and promoting peaceful coexistence among Nigerians. The APC is generally considered to be political party that favors controlled market or regulated market economic policies, and a strong and active role for government regulation.

Topics: MMM Nigeria, Linda Ikeji blog, Buhari, Yoruba movies, nollywood movies, David Oyedepo, Nigerian movies, miss Anambra video, Goodluck Jonathan, MMM Nigeria, NECO result, ankara styles, ultimate cycler, youngest president