Lai Mohammed Slams US For Declaring 20 Nigerian States Unsafe


The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, has slammed the US government for declaring 20 states in the country unsafe for its citizens.

The American government had last week warned its citizens resident in the country to avoid traveling to states such as Ekiti, Borno, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, and Zamfara, as they are unsafe.

Also See: Travel Warning: U.S Declares These Nigerian States Unsafe

It cited armed robbery, kidnapping and terrorism, among others, as reasons for the advice.

Lai Mohammed
No Nigerian state is unsafe

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, reacted to the U.S government report, while hosting a delegation of the Association of Tourism Practitioners of Nigeria (ATPN), described it as untrue.

He said  it projected Nigeria in negative light to the rest of the world, insisting the country is safe for investment and tourism. He said:

“There was a report in the media that 20 states out 36 states in Nigeria are not safe. Who said so? We are in Nigeria. How can we believe the claim that 20 states in Nigeria are not safe. That is not correct. There is no state in Nigeria that is not safe today.”

He added that in spite of the security challenges in the Niger Delta region and the North-east, Nigeria remains a beautiful environment inhabited by people of acclaimed quality.

Also See: Turkey Thanks Nigeria For Support During Failed Coup Attempt

Mohammed, also who warned the Nigerian media to desist from negative news capable of hurting domestic tourism.

“Is there any week they are not killing people in the U.S., by either shooting in schools or driveways or people committing suicide or mass bombing? How many of these stories do their media celebrate?

“If they want to tell their people not to come to Nigeria, it is not for us to help them propagate it.”