Court Sacks Two Enugu Federal Lawmakers, Orders Them To Refund Salaries And Allowances


The Federal High Court in Abuja has ordered two House of Representatives members from Enugu State to vacate their seats in the National Assembly.

The lawmwkers are, Hon. Stella Ngwu from Igbo-Etiti/Uzo-Uwani Federal Constituency and Hon. Dennis Nnmachi Agbo from Igbo-Eze North/Udenu Federal Constituency.

Also Read: Following Accusations Of Ethnic Bias, House Of Reps To Probe Buhari’s Appointments

Delevering the verdict, Justice Okon Abang also ordered that they refund to the coffers of the National Assembly forthwith all monies so far collected by way of salaries, allowances since they took the seats in the House.

Abang held that the emergence of Hon. Ngwu and Hon. Agbo was unlawful as the party in the conduct of its primaries failed to make use of the list of delegates that emerged in its congresses held on November 1, 2014.

Consequently, Justice Abang ordered the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) to immediately issue certificate of return to Dr. Gabriel Okafor and Hon. Chijioke Ugwu respectively.

Dr. Gabriel A Okafor was declared winner of Igbo-Eze North/Udenu Federal Constituency while Hon. Chijioke H. Ugwu won Egbo-Eze North/Udenu Federal Constituency.

According to the court, PDP and its National working Committee had no right nor authority to use any delegate list for the election for its candidate for Igbo-Etiti/Uzo-Uwani and Igbo-Eze North/Udenu Federal Constituencies, respectively, other than the list of delegates that emerged in its congresses held on November 1, 2014.

Justice Okon Abang ruled:

“It is hereby declared that the 4th defendant did not emerge as winner from the primary election conducted for the purpose of electing the House of Representatives’ candidate of the 1st defendant for Igbo-Etiti/Uzo-Uwani Federal Constituency for 2015 general election since the primary election that purportedly produced her as winner was not conducted based on the list of delegates that emerged from ward congresses of the 1st defendant held on 1st November, 2014.”

Also Read: Dino Melaye Advocates Presidential Pardon, Amnesty To Treasury Looters

“It is hereby declared that the plaintiff, Dr. Gabriel .A. Okafor won PDP’s party primary election on 6th December,2014 for Igbo-Etiti/Uzo-Uwani Federal Constituency election into the House of Representatives.”