Governor Obiano Reshuffles Cabinet, Re-Designates Ministries


Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra State, in a press release has reshuffled his cabinet and re-designated some ministries to give a sharp edge to his administration. The reshuffling is obviously in a strategic bid to align the roles and functions of the various ministries with his vision for a prosperous, efficient and vibrant Anambra state, while also finishing strong in the second lap of his tenure. The change, however, did not involve the removal of any commissioner. The press release was signed by the Special Adviser to the Governor, New Media, Ifeanyi Anagoh.

Here are the New Movements;

(1) Ogbuefi Tony Nnacheta (Commissioner for Information and Communications Strategy)

(2) Dr. Barr. Mrs. Uju Nwogu (Commissioner for Youth Entrepreneurship & Sports Development)

(3) Ifeatu Onejeme (Commissioner for Finance, Industry, Innovations & Development Finance Institutions)

(4) Hon. Chinwe Nwebili (Commissioner for Road, Rail & Water Transportation)

(5) Mrs Amaka Ilobi (Commissioner for Trade, Commerce, Markets & Wealth Creation)

(6) Sir Okey Morka (Commissioner for Lands, Physical Planning & Rural Development)

(7) Mrs Stella Onuora (Commissioner for Diaspora Affairs, Culture & Tourism)

(8) Dr. Ifeanyi Ejikeme (Commissioner for Environment, Beautification & Ecology)

(9) Mr Mark Okoye (Special Adviser, Ministry of Economic a Planning, Budget & Development Partners).

This ministry will in the interim be overseen by the Secretary to the State Government.

See Also: We Launched War Against Crime To Attract Investors-Obiano 

The Newly Re-designated Ministries And The Commissioners Retained Are;

(1) Chief Law Chinwuba (Commissioner for Road Construction, Road Furniture & Maintenance)

(2) Chief Greg Obi (Commissioner for Local Government, Chieftaincy & Community Affairs)

(3) Dr. Victoria Chikwelu (Commissioner for Social Welfare, Children & Women Affairs)

(4) Engineer Frank Ofor (Commissioner for Housing & Urban Renewal)

(5) Mr Obi Nwankwo (Commissioner for Power & Domestic Water Development)

(6) Dr. Chinedu Emeka ( Commissioner for Mineral Resources, Science & Technology)

(7) Mr Afam Mbanefo (Commissioner for Agriculture, Mechanization, Processing & Export)


The Commissioners & Ministries Retained Unchanged Are;

(1) Professor Kate Omenugha (Commissioner for Education)

(2) Barrister Anali Chude (Attorney General & Commissioner for Justice)

(3) Dr. Joe Akabuike (Commissioner for Health)


These Three Principal Officers were also Retained by Gov. Obiano

(1) Professor Solo Chukwulobelu (Secretary to the State government)

(2) Professor Joe Asike (Chief of Staff)

(3) Sir Willie Nwokoye (Principal Secretary).

Chief Obiano charged the Commissioners to hit the ground running anew and build on the monumental successes recorded in the last two years.

Read Also: Anambra State To Boost Agriculture By Exporting Rice Soon