Godwin Obaseki Of APC Declared Winner Of Edo Governorship Election


The governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Godwin Obaseki, has emerged winner of Edo State governorship elections which held on Wednesday 28th September 2016, according to the nation’s electoral body.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Godwin Obaseki winner as the candidate with the highest number of votes in the governorship election.

Also See: Edo Decides: PDP Rejects Election Results

Announcing the the result, INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Kayode Soremekun, said Mr. Obaseki had satisfied the requirements by scoring the highest number of votes.

Obaseki who won 13 out of the 18 local government areas in the state, polled a total of 319,483 votes to beat his closest rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr. Osagie Ize-Iyamu, who garnered 253,173 votes.



The APC won in Akoko-Edo LGA, Ikpoba-Okha, Etsako West, Etsako East, Etsako Cenral, Owan East LGA, Ovia North LGA, Oredo LGA, Uhunwomnde,  Igueben LGA, Egor LGA, Owan West LGA.

The PDP won in Esan North Central, Esan West LGA, Orhionmwon LGA, Esan South East LGA, Esan North East LGA.

The governor-elect in his acceptance assured the people of Edo State of his commitment to fulfill all campaign promises he made on the stump irrespective of party affiliations.

President Muhammadu Buhari, congratulated the government and people of Edo State for a peaceful conclusion of the election. The president in a telephone call to Governor Oshiohmole noted his delight at the victory of the APC candidate, Godwin Obaseki.

Commending the well articulated campaign programme of the APC in the state, the doggedness of the governor, governor-elect and party members in going round the state to reach the people with records of good governance, Mr. president added that: “The victory is good for democracy, for Nigeria and for the people of Edo.”

Also See: We Are Already Walking Out Of Recession, Says Kemi Adeosun

He also applauded INEC, security agencies, corps members and the electorate in ensuring peaceful election in the state.