Why Four States Were Omitted From Ambassadorial List


Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal, has disclosed that the four states omitted from President Buhari’s list of ambassadorial nominees had no qualified candidates.

The Presidency says specific criteria had been set to pick nominees and the four states without nominees have no career diplomats in the Foreign service who met the objective.

Also Read: President Buhari Condemns Ruthless Devaluation Of The Naira

The Four states without nominees in the ambassadorial list are; Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Ondo, and Plateau.

In the words of the SGF while speaking to press men in Abuja;

“Four states didn’t make it one way or the other; however, not necessarily on the criteria of seniority.

“There are criteria and qualifications that are required to post you to go and represent Nigeria, not just because while in the foreign service or the civil service you were able to make grade level 16 or 17, quite a number of qualifications are needed.

“So even if you make that retirement criteria service length or rank criteria, there are other criteria.”

senate rejects buhari's ambassadorial list

Mr. Lawal said the Presidency was disappointed at the Senate following its decision to suspend the confirmation process of the 47 ambassadorial nominees’ list forwarded to the legislators by President Muhammadu Buhari for allegedly lacking the principle of federal character.

According to him, out of 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory, while the constitution preaches federal character, it does not say that every state must be represented in any appointment, except of course in the case of ministers.

Not in all other appointments, so the spirit of the constitution has been fully satisfied by having 32 ambassadors out of 36 plus one (FCT). I believe that every objective analyst will agree with this.

Last week, the senate suspended the confirmation of the 47 ambassadorial nominees forwarded by President Buhari earlier in the month. They argued that the nominations are not reflective of the federal character. Four states had no nominees.

Also See: Gov. Ikpeazu To Challenge High Court Decision At Appellate Courts

The Senate had proceeded to summon the SGF and the Foreign Affairs Minister, Geoffrey Onyeama. They are to appear before the higher chambers on the 11th of July to explain the inconsistencies in the list.