What You Need To Know About FIFA’s New ‘Best Awards’


After ending its partnership with France football in September, FIFA has launched their own individual award for football’s best players called ‘The Best Awards’ to rival the Ballon D’or award.

The world football governing body ran a separate award called the “World Player of the Year” award from 1991 until 2009, but linked up with France Football and the Ballon d’Or for the past six years. FIFA has however decided not to revert to the same name after ending their partnership with France Football.


The Best Awards which will take place in Zurich on January 9, 2017, will also feature a new voting system that sees fans have a say in the player and coach of the year in both men’s and women’s football.

Also Read: Former Man Utd Player To Be Ordained Catholic Priest

The votes of the captains and head coaches of all of the world’s national teams will make up 50% of the result, with the other half split between an online public ballot and more than 200 media representatives around the world.

Also, there will be a new FIFA Fan Award. A panel of football experts will shortlist remarkable moments throughout the year and it will be up to the fans to vote for their favourite moment on FIFA’s digital platforms

This week, FIFA is expected to unveil the shortlists for the four individual awards, starting on Tuesday with the Women’s Coach award then 10 candidates for the men’s coach prize on Wednesday then on Thursday and Friday the 10 candidates for the top women’s and men’s players prizes will revealed respectively.

See Also: John Obi Mikel Nominated For CAF African Player Of The Year Award

FIFA claims the trophies “will be the game’s highest honour for coaches and footballers”. The awards, several of which were also present alongside the Ballon d’Or, are:

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016
  • The FIFA Puskas Award 2016 (for goal of the year)
  • The FIFA Fair Play Award 2016
  • The FIFA Fan Award 2016
  • FIFA FifPro World 11