Federal Government Reveals New Mass Housing Plan


In its new national mass housing programme, the Federal Government has unveiled plans to adopt building six different models of houses for the country’s six geographical regions.

Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola stated the models were adopted to reflect the cultural preferences of the country’s geopolitical zones.

In a statement from his senior media aide, Hakeem Bello, Fashola said this was part of government’s plan to achieve a sustainable housing programme for the country.

According to the Minister, the focus of the present administration was more on a sustainable housing plan. A little over N30 billion has been allocated to start building these houses in the 2016 national budget.

Read Also: Dangote Set To Build Mega Sugar Factory In Niger State

fashola on mass housing plan

At a meeting with the National Assembly Joint Committees on Housing, Fashola said the adopted designs are expected to drive industrialisation; standardisation; and mass production of building materials.

Fashola explained to the legislators that the government started with 480 designs but the technical department of the ministry worked hard to reduce them to a manageable numbers.

He stressed the importance of the cultural basis for the national housing programme, saying: “Some of the feedbacks that we found, because the basis for cultural design first is consultation; you don’t just sit down and design and say go and give them, is that some of the buildings built for the IDPs, they refused to live there.”

With this new housing plan, government plans to move away from the models of the past to the extent that those models had not provided the speed and scale of response that government seeks to achieve sustainable housing.

So far, only 19 states have responded to the Federal Government’s request for land allocation for the prograamme.

Also See: Gov. Ikpeazu Flags Off 4.6km Faulks Road Construction In Abia

The states include; Ogun, Jigawa, Kwara, Kogi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Ekiti, Kebbi, Adamawa, Abia, Ondo, Yobe, Akwa Ibom, Benue, Bauchi, Osun, Anambra, Oyo and Plateau.