Edo Elections: PDP Plans To Battle Tomorrow


Edo state and the nation at large are waiting for the Edo elections coming up tomorrow 28th September. However, this is not just a governor’s election for the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP; it is a battle for political survival by the one-time ruling party against the most resilient threat to it since it first berthed in the state in 1998.

Read Also: Immigration Warns Foreigners in Edo State Against Voting

According to Vanguard’s report, the PDP plans a good fight as the party boasts of notable politicians such as High Chief Raymond Dokpesi, Abu Dokpesi, High Chief Stanley Odidi, Jude Imagwe, Hon Godwin Eshieshi and many others in Etsako East local government area of the state.

The party is deploying some of its most formidable captains in the battle to wrest the ship of state from the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Considering the fact that Governor Adams Oshiomhole is a native of Edo North Senatorial zone, it is not going to be a clean sweep victory for the APC in that zone as well.

Central Edo Senatorial zone is the home of the Esan people and they are predominately PDP. Therefore, they have been identifying with the PDP national leader, Chief Tony Anenih since 1999, and do not hope to give up their alliance come tomorrow’s election.

The allegations that the senatorial district was marginalised by the Oshiomhole administration, the underfunding of the Ambrose Alli University will be the currency for the PDP chieftains marshalling the attack for the party. The PDP will be deploying Chief Tony Anenih, Senators Odion Ugbesia, Clifford Ordia, Chief Tom Ikimi, Prince Tony Omoaghe, Hon.Tony Aziegbemi, Hon Friday Itulah, Chief Mike Onolemenmen, and Hon. Joe Edionwele.

The party firepower will also be boosted by Mrs. Philomena Ihenyen, Mr. Richard Okosun. Elder Adekunle, Hon. Akhere Ugbesia, Hon. Festus Ebea, Felix Otubu, etc.

Obviously, PDP seems ready for the Edo Elections, the same way its opponent, although not open about their own plans, sure has a set plan too. May the deserving candidate/party win!