Buhari Appoints Shetima Abba As Chairman, Federal Character Commission


The Federal Character Commission (FCC) has received a new acting chairman as President Muhammadu Buhari approved the nomination of Dr. Shettima Bukar Abba.

According to News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), it was  the Deputy Director, Planning and Strategy of the FCC, Mr. Chucks Okoli,made this known in Abuja on January 13, Wednesday. s nomination came after the death of Alhaji Muhammad Bello Alkali, the ex-boss of the agency.

The late acting Executive Chairman of the Federal Character Commission, (FCC) Alhaji Muhammad Bello Alkali reportedly died last Friday at age 74
in a Sokoto hospital  following complications from asthmatic attack and was buried on Saturday in his home town, Arugungu. Alhaji Alkali, who until his death represented Kebbi State in the commission would have finished his second tenure next year.

See Also: Nigerians Which Do You Prefer: Good Dictatorship or Corrupt Democracy?

Bukar Abba who was the Federal Commissioner representing Borno State in the commission and also the Acting Executive Chairman until his appointment on Monday, is a seasoned civil servant, and has been a two-time Secretary to the Borno State Government.

Dr. Shettima Abba, who has already assumed duty at the Commission, was born 8th February, 1950 and hails from Bama, in Bama Local Government Area of Borno State. He attended the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria where he obtained a Bachelors Degree in geography, Masters Degree in geography in 1985 and a PhD in geography in 1988.

He was a lecturer at the College of Education, Maiduguri 1977 – 1997, Permanent Secretary in the Borno State Civil Service from 1998 to 1999, Secretary to Borno State Government 1999 to 2003, Abba was also Senior Special Assistant to Mr. President (SGF Office) 2007 to 2011.

See Also: Soyinka Applauds Buhari’s Fight Against Corruption

The Federal Character Commission (FCC) is an executive body established to implement and enforce the federal character principle of fairness and equity in the distribution of public posts and socio-economic infrastructures among the various federating units of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.