Beyonce Fires at Jay-Z in Her 6th Studio Album, Lemonade


World acclaimed American singer, Beyonce Knowles, has premiered her latest solo visual album titled ‘Lemonade’. The surprise release was debuted on American cable channel HBO on Saturday April 23. However,  it is only available for streaming on Tidal, owned by the singer’s husband, Jay Z.

Lemonade is a follow-up to Beyonce’s self-titled album which was released in 2013, and initially had restricted access intended to increase fans’ craving for the visuals. However, on Monday April 25, Lemonade was made available on ITunes and will be available on other platforms soon. Fans are so excited about this new release, but it seems like the lyrics of some of the song were tactfully written and targeted at Jay Z, who has not been making the singer so happy of late.

See Also: Six Doctors Die In Autocrash: Ekiti Mourns

In one of the songs on the album, Sorry, Beyonce indirectly revealed the identity of her husband’s alleged mistress as ‘Becky’, with the lyrics:

‘He only want me when I’m not there, He better call Becky with the good hair.’


Jay Z had been tagged with some infidelity issues in recent past and Beyonce’s ‘Becky’ might just be Rachel Roy, a fashion designer and ex-wife of Jay-Z’s former associate, Damon Dash, who allegedly has been fiddling with the singers’ man. Lady Bey and Jay Z, who got married in 2008 and are parents to four-year old Blue Ivy, have had several ups and downs in relation to Jay Z’s unfaithfulness to his Diva.

Read Also: Mahrez Wins English Football’s Player Of The Year Award

Perhaps, Beyonce’s lyrics might just be fictional and not really aimed at firing Jay-Z. On the other hand, it might just be her way of telling the world what has been going on in their marriage. The first video, ‘Pray You Catch Me’, portrays Beyoncé walking down the street and smashing up cars with a baseball bat, singing about a man who had betrayed her trust. On same track she says:

 “Ten times of nine, I know you’re lying, but nine times outta ten, I know you’re trying.”

On track 7, ‘Love Drought,’ the singer, whose excitement about getting married to Jay Z once led her to release “Put a Ring on It,” now regrets wearing a ring.

“Looking at my watch, he shoulda been home, today I regret the night I put that ring on. He always got them fucking excuses, I pray to the Lord you reveal what his truth is…”

It’s somehow confusing that Jay Z allowed his wife to release such a visual that says “You gonna loose your wife soon,” not minding what critiques would say about most of the lyrics. However, he features in the latter half of the album’s visual, an indication that he is aware and in support of project, Lemonade.

Although Beyonce covers up with a statement that some of those lyrics were written from the perspective of her mother, whose marriage fell apart out of unfaithfulness, fans can’t help but speculate that Jay Z’s involvement with Rachel Roy and the elevator scenario with Beyoncé’s sister Solange, must have triggered these words from the songbird.

See Also: Jose Mourinho To Replace Louis van Gaal

Here’s the Trailer of Lemonade

Lemonade is made up of 12 tracks which include:

1. Pray You Can’t Catch Me

2. Hold Up

3. Don’t Hurt Yourself

4. Sorry

5. 6 Inch

6. Daddy Lessons

7. Love Drought

8. Sandcastles

9. Forward

10. Freedom

11. All Night

12. Formation