Bayelsa Polls: INEC Declares Seriake Dickson Rightful Governor Of Bayelsa State


After all of the fuss and the bloodshed, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has gone ahead against all odds to declare incumbent governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Governor Seriake Dickson winner of the gubernatorial elections held in the state.

Read Also: “Tamper With Bayelsa Elections And Nigeria Will Go Ablaze” – Asari Dokubo Tells Buhari

INEC declared Seriake the winner after he scored the most votes at the elections. After announcing results from all the local governments, Gov Dickson scored a total of 134,998 votes against his major opponent, the former governor of the state and candidate of the All Progressive People’s Congress (APC), Timipre Sylva who had a total of 86,852 votes.

The total number of registered voters are 6,544,493 and the total number of accredited voters are 242,114.

INEC conducted the elections of January 9th as supplementary elections after it cancelled the round of elections which held on December 5th 2015 due to the inordinate amount of blood that was shed and the fact that the result were inconclusive. The December 5 election was marred by a lot of blood shed with APC and PDP accusing each other of instigating the violence.

Below is the final Result of the election as announced by the Returning Officer, Zana Akpagbu:

Total registered voters 654493

Accredited voters 242114

Votes earned by political parties:

ACPN 128

ADC 173

APA 578

APC 86852

APGA 178

CPP 60

DPC 189

DPP 231

ID 20


LP 76



PDC 135

PDM 1572

PDP 134998

PPA 221

PPN 14

SDP 17

UPP 12

Total valid votes 225520

Rejected votes 6647

Total votes cast 232167


Read Also: ‘You Are Worthy Heroes Of Democracy’ – Fayose Tells Bayelsans