Heroine Oshoala Nets 4 Goals As Super Falcons Flog Mali 6-0


Super striker, Asisat Oshoala led the Super Falcons in defending their African Women’s Cup of Nations title to spank Mali 6-0 on Sunday in their Group B opener in Limbe.

Arsenal Ladies striker, Oshoala, who won the 2014 African Woman Player of the Year award and was adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the last edition of the championship in Namibia, was the star as she scored four of the six goals, while U.S.-based Francisca Ordega and Uchechi Sunday each scored a goal to secure the emphatic win for the Falcons.


Oshoala scored her first in the 40th minute in-between goals by Fransisca Ordega and Uchechi Sunday before following it up with a hat-trick in the 63rd, 68th and 77th minutes respectively.

Read Also: Sports Minister Makes Huge Blunder – Nigeria Too Poor To Attend World Cup

Ordega put the Falcons in front on 21 minutes before Asisat Oshoala made it 2-0 before the end of the first half.

Sunday scored on 48 minutes for the Falcons to make it 3-0 from the penalty spot after Osaronoma Igbinovia was fouled inside the penalty box.

Hosts, Cameroun, struggled to a 2-0 defeat of Egypt in the opening game of the competition on Saturday, but the Falcons didn’t break much sweat in defeating the Malians in Group B’s first match.

Nigeria now sits pretty at the top of Group B with a plus six goals advantage. The Falcons’ next game is against rivals Black Queens of Ghana on Wednesday who seem like a stronger opposition .

Although the defending champions, were expected to defeat Mali in their opening game of the on-going African Women Nations Cup, the way the girls went about the 6-0 demolition of their fellow West Africans has left fans of the other teams featuring in this championship in awe of the Nigerians.

Also See: Nigeria’s Super Eagles OutFox Algerias’ Desert Foxes In Uyo

Meanwhile, reports say some volunteers numbering about 210 have threatened to disrupt the championship following an alleged neglect of their welfare by the local organizing committee of the championship.