Anambra 25th Anniversary: 300 Eminent Nigerians Receive Honorary Awards


Anambra 25th Anniversary: As Anambra State Marks It’s 25th Anniversary, Eminent Indigenes of the State have been honored by the State Government.

No less than 300 individuals, including Nigeria’s first President, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, Nigeria’s first millionaire, Sir Lois Odumegwu Ojukwu, Biafra hero, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, and a host of others.

The honorary awards were given yesterday December 16 as part of activities marking the 25th anniversary of the creation of Anambra State.

Also honored were Blessed Iwene Tansi, Francis Cardinal Arinze, Professor Chinua Achebe Olauda Equano, Chimamanda Adichie and Oby Ezekwesili.

READ ALSO:   24 Igbo Youths Receive N50m in Anambra

The awards, which were in 10 categories, were presented by the governor of the state, Chief Willie Obiano.

The event which was an impressive ceremony attracted guests from within and outside Nigeria.

The award categories were: Pillars of our Heritage; Light Bearers; Lifetime Achievement; Philanthropists extraordinaire and Business Titans; Ambassadors of Excellence and Outstanding Public Service.


Other categories include ICONS of Education, ICONS of Tradition; Service to Humanity and Evergreen (posthumous award).

The award for Pillars of our Heritage went to the late Sir Louis Odumegwu Ojukwu and his son, late Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, late Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe, Chinua Achebe, Blessed Iwene Tansi, Francis Cardinal Arinze and Olauda Equino.

While the Light Bearers awards went to former vice President of Nigeria, Dr Alex Ekwueme, former secretary of the Commonwealth, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, former Senate presidents of Nigeria, namely Dr Nwafor Orizu and Dr Chuba Okadigbo, Louis Mbanefo (Attorney General of former Eastern region) Archbishop Jude Okolo (Papal Nuncio to the Vatican in Niger and the Central Africa countries) and Archbishop of Onitsha, Most Reverend Valerian Okeke.

Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida, Former President of Nigeria, was awarded in the Lifetime Achievement category of the award for creating the state in 1991.

IBB, Ojukwu, Others Honored In Anambra 25th Anniversary Awards

Others who also received awards in this category were Late Dr Ukpabi Asika (former administrator of defunct East Central State), Commodore Joseph Abulu (first military administrator of the state), Chief Chukwuemeka Ezeife (first civilian governor of Anambra state), Col Mike Attah, Garba Rufai, Commander Emmanuel Ukaegbu, Dr Chinwoke Mbadinuju, Senator Chris Ngige, Dame Virgy Etiaba and Mr. Peter Obi, who were all former governors.

Other awardees were former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Chief Agunwa Anaekwe, Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Alfred Achebe, Speaker of the Anambra State House of Assembly.

Notable recipients of the Anambra 25th Anniversary awards include Chief Innocent Chukwuma (CEO INNOSON Motors), veteran actor Chief Pete Edochie, Emmanuel Okala, Super Eagles Captain and Chelsea midfielder John Mikel Obi, among others.

READ ALSO:   Anambra Serves Pupils Okpa, As It Flags Off School Feeding Programme

Governor Willie Obiano said Anambra had every reason to celebrate because indigenes of the state were excelling in every part of the world where they reside.

He declared:

“I am very lucky to be the jubilee governor and the honour to bestow these awards on the recipients.

“Today, our people are the best in most spheres of human endeavour and that is why we decided to honour them.”

According to him, the award was devoid of political affiliation, as the awardees cut across all political parties, religious denominations and the business sector.

Anambra State was created in the year 1991, December 16th by Military President Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida.