Again, Floyd Mayweather Wins Boxer Of The Year Award


Floyd Mayweather, the longtime pound-for-pound king who announced his retirement last year, has received another honor, as he was voted the 2015 Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year after the Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) announced it’s balloting results on Friday.

Mayweather won the award for the third time, having also claimed the trophy in 2007 and 2013. Although he only fought twice in 2015, He won the 2015 award on the strength of his unanimous decision victory over longtime Filipino rival, Manny Pacquiao, a three-time BWAA Fighter of the Year himself, which he won in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

Other fighters to win the award three times include Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Sugar Ray Leonard and Evander Holyfield.

Mayweather’s fight with Pacquiao on May 2 in Las Vegas was by far the richest fight in boxing history generating over $600m in actual revenue with the boxer pocketing about $300m, defying previous world titles and crowning himself as the ‘best fighter of his generation’.

The event shattered boxing revenue records, including selling 4.6 million pay-per-views. Mayweather with an undefeated record of 48-0, with 26 KOs then easily outpointed former welterweight titlist, Andre Berto in September 2015 to make it an enviable record of 49-0 before announcing his retirement.

Mayweather, along with the other award winners, will be recognized at the 91st annual BWAA awards gala in the spring on a date and at a location yet to be released to the press.

See Also: Lionel Messi Scores His 500th Goal In Copa del Rey (King’s Cup)

However, not everyone believes he’s retired for good. There’s constant talk of him eventually coming out of retirement this year to once again fight Pacquiao in another lucrative payday. The opinionated American denies the entire rumor and remains firm at his decision of retiring.

Forbes in 2014 and 2015, listed him as the highest paid athlete in the world. Mayweather had previously topped the Forbes and Sports Illustrated lists of the 50 highest-paid athletes of 2012 and 2013.

An American retired professional boxer, Floyd Joy Mayweather, Jr. (born Floyd Joy Sinclair; February 24, 1977), remains undefeated as a professional and a five-division world champion.  Mayweather won twelve world titles and the lineal championship in four different weight classes (twice in the welterweight division).

He is a two-time winner of the Ring magazine Fighter of the Year award (1998 and 2007); a two-time winner of the Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) Fighter of the Year award (2007 and 2013); and a six-time winner of the Best Fighter ESPY Award (2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2014).

BoxRec currently rates Mayweather as the fifth greatest pound for pound fighter of all time, and the greatest pound for pound welterweight of all time. In 2007, He founded Mayweather Promotions, his own boxing promotional firm.