Abuja Residents Banned From Using Fireworks, Knock-Outs During Yuletide


Abuja residents have been banned by the FCT Police from using fireworks during the forthcoming yuletide celebration for security reasons.

Residents of the federal capital territory have been assured by the FCT Commissioner of Police, CP Muhammad Mustafa that the Police Command has put in place adequate security measures that will see to the seamless celebration of the Christmas and New Year.

Consequently, parents, guardians and residents in the FCT have been called on to ensure their children and wards are guarded against the use of fireworks and Knock-outs as it ‘creates unnecessary panic, heightens tension and provided a conducive atmosphere for criminal activities’.

Read Also: FG Declares Four-Day Public Holiday to Mark Christmas and New Year

CP Muhammad Mustafa in statement released by the ASP Anjuguri Manzah, Police Public Relations Officer directs all Area Commanders and Divisional Police Officers to ensure a strict compliance to ban on the use of fireworks and knock-out in the Federal Capital Territory, as those arrested for violating the ban will face the wrath of the law.

The FCT commissioner of Police further enjoined residents to be vigilant and partner with the Police by reporting all suspicious movements around them to the nearest Police formation or call the Command emergency helplines on: 08032003913, 08061581938, 07057337653 and 08028940883.


Meanwhile, the Federal Government of Nigeria has declared Monday 26th, Tuesday 27th December 2016 and Monday 2nd January 2017 as Public Holidays to mark the Christmas, Boxing Day and New Year Celebrations respectively.

The declaration was made on behalf of the Federal Government, by the Minister of Interior Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau in a statement signed by the Acting Permanent Secretary of the ministry, Alhaji Muhammadu Maccido on Wednesday.

Also See: Refineries Will Work Optimally In 2017 – NNPC Assure Nigerians

The minister enjoined all Christian faithful and Nigerians in general, to remain supportive of the Government of President Muhammadu Buhari in his sustained efforts towards building a peaceful, united and prosperous nation.