50 Best Nigerian Universities Of 2015


A recent global ranking of the top 50 universities in Nigeria for 2015 has just been released, and the result is quite different from what we saw last year. It seems that some Universities who were not pleased with where they were ranked in 2014 have tried their best to ensure that they climb up the ladder to be ranked among the best. According to Webometrics Ranking of World Universities, the university that came first in Nigeria as at 2014, is no longer worthy of the title and as such, we have a new king. As at 2014 different searches came up with Obafemi Awolowo and the University of Ilorin as the best universities in Nigeria, while Covenant University Ota came in at the 10th position.

Well like I said, that was last year. In the recently published rankings of Webometrics, Covenant University has risen out of the background and the shadows to become one of the 15 best universities in Africa and the no. 1 university in Nigeria. Responding to the news, the vice-chancellor of the university, Prof Charles Ayo, made it known that they had put in a lot of effort and that they will not stop until the institution climbs to the list of the 10 best universities in Africa.

In the world ranking, a total of 136 Nigerian Universities made the list. The ranking was done based on four vital composite indicators which include their Presence, rate of Impact, Openness and Academic excellence. Check out the 50 Best Nigerian Universities on the list and their world ranking:

1. Covenant University Ota (1401)

2. Obafemi Awolowo University (1791)

3. University of Ibadan (2310)

4. University of Lagos (2597)

5.  University of Ilorin (2742)

6. University of Agriculture Abeokuta (3424)

7. Ahmadu Bello University (3599)

8. Federal University of Technology Akure (3872)

9. Landmark University (4022)

10. University of Nigeria (4100)

11. University of Benin (4462)

12  University of Port Harcourt (4590)

13. Federal University of Technology Minna (4644)

14. Federal University Dutsin Ma (5114)

15. University of Jos (5810)

16. Federal University Oye Ekiti Ekiti State (7146)

17. Olabisi Onabanjo University (Ogun State University) (8385)

18  Federal University of Technology Owerri (8551)

19. University of Calabar (8704)

20. Osun State University (8988)

21. Auchi Polytechnic (9063)

22. Paul University Awka Anambra State (9294)

23. National Open University of Nigeria (9782)

24. Yaba College of Technology (9920)

25. Afe Babalola University Ado-Ekiti (10360)


Note: Webometrics uses multiple ranking factors based on academic web presence, research output including not only formal (e-journals, repositories) publications but also informal scholarly communication and the economic relevance of the technology transfer to industry, the community engagement (social, cultural, environmental roles) and even the political influence are all considered.

26. Lagos Business School Pan-African University (10384)

27. Madonna University Nigeria (10492)

28. University of Uyo (10518)

29. Lead City University Ibadan (10577)

30. Bayero University Kano (10795)

31. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (11154)

32. Nnamdi Azikiwe University (11169)

33. Adekunle Ajasin University (11215)

34. Federal University Ndufu Alike Ikwo FUNAI (11443)

35. University of Maiduguri (11526)

36. Benue State University (11794)

37. Redeemer’s University (12595)

38. Pan-African University Lagos (12694)

39. Caritas University Enugu (12789)

40. Rivers State University of Science & Technology (13273)

41. Kwara State University (13369)

42. Usmanu Danfodiyo University (13475)

43. Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma  (13653)

44. American University of Nigeria (13749)

45. Joseph Ayo Babalola University (13756)

46. Tai Solarin University of Education (13821)

47. Lagos State University (14073)

48. Bowen University (14163)

49. Kaduna State University (14225)

50. Federal University of Agriculture Makurdi (14531)

Also, the list of the best 15 universities in Africa for 2015 was released. Check it out below, the university their world rank and the country.

1. University of Cape Town (328)  South Africa

2. Stellenbosch University (426)  S/A

3. Cairo University (474)  Egypt

4. University of Pretoria (494) S/A

5. University of Witwatersrand (563) S/A

6. University of Kwazulu Natal (830)  S/A

7. University of Nairobi (855)  Kenya

8. University of the Western Cape (1022) S/A

9. American University in Cairo (1050) Egypt

10. University of South Africa (1074) S/A

11. Mansoura University Kenya (1167) Kenya

12. Universities of Johannesburg (1178) S/A

13. Makerere University (1213) Uganda

14. Rhodes University (1341) S/A

15. Covenant University Ota (1401) Nigeria.

Nigerian Universities are coming up and rising from the previous poor rankings and things are looking more promising for the next ranking. Some people actually believe that by the next ranking in 2016, Nigerian Universities should be among the best 10 in Africa.